Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It's all a matter of preference of course…..but if you like sweet sweet potatoes, most likely you will enjoy this dish. I like this dish a lot but my husband felt it was way too sweet. He felt like he was eating dessert. I used original spiced rum instead of dark rum. I also used 1/2 cup sugar instead of a full cup. Still it was very sweet. When I make it next time, I will try using dark rum and cutting down the sugar to a few tablespoons in the sweet potatoes, since there is so much sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This is a REQUIRED dish at all holiday dinners at my house. Only change is I only use brown sugar, and cut all sugar measurements in half, double the vanilla and the secret ingredient is to use Cruzan Black Strap rum. Rarely have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year for the past 4 or 5 years and my family loves it! One time I put it in scooped out oranges. And ever since the year I forgot to get to the ABC store for rum, I have used rum extract. I modify the recipe to be dairy and gluten free by substituting soy milk and GF flour mix. And a few times when I was short on time I used canned sweet potatoes. Didn't really make much difference in the taste. The rum flavor is what elevates this recipe from ho-hum, been there done that. This is one of my "go to" recipes for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Wonderful. Everyone loved it. I left out the white sugar. And added ginger. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Hands down the best sweet potato dish I've ever had. My family always asks for this dish on all special occasions. I've been making this dish for almost 5 years and I LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We have a favorite restaurant that makes an awesome sweet potato casserole and I thought I had found one that was close to it. Well.... Now I know I hadn't found it until I tried this recipe! This is an awesome recipe. I made this last night to go with grilled salmon, broccoli, and a great bottle of chardonnay. This is the best - the rum is what really gives this first prize! The topping is quite good also. My husband who thinks sweet potatoes are only "OK", ate 3 helpings of this and declared it fabulous! It went especially well with the wine. This recipe is my new favorite and will be on my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I've been making this for about 7 years now. Family insists! I always use Meyers Dark Rum and some extra sweet potatoes and follow the recipe otherwise. I usually half-bake the taters before adding the crumble topping so it doesn't dissolve so much with the moisture. This can be done the day before, making day of prep time much shorter. I just cut the brown sugar, nuts and flour with softened butter or mash it up in a zipper bag and leave it on the counter until ready to use, then pour on top of potatoes and gently spread around. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe was super easy to make. I halved the sweet potato part, but kept the amount of topping the same. I also broiled the casserole for 2 - 3 minutes to get the topping extra crisp. It was delicious. I only gave it four stars because both my husband and I thought it lacked that "kick" of rum flavor. You could barely taste it. Could have been because of all the extra topping though. Next time I make it I will keep the amound of rum the same for half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
by far my favorite recipe for sweet potatoes... some people in my family who dont like sweet potatoes even like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I loved this. Brought it to a potluck. It was a little too sweet for my husband's taste, but lots of people raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States