Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Delicious; I think I used too many pecans though. I will definitely make this again next Thanksgiving but I will cut back on the pecans some. The rum really adds something special to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This casserole was delicious. I served it at Thanksgiving and found all my guests were asking for the recipe. The rum adds a wonderful flavor. I would highly recommend the recipe to anyone who is looking for a different way to prepare sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
OH MY GOD!!! This is so wonderful! For the rum I used 1 mini bottle instead of measuring and put more topping on. My 4 picky kids all loved this and even went back for more!!! I am serving this for Thanksgiving and from now on I will even serve it as a side dish for dinner, After all Sweet potatoes are so high in vitamins. This is really like a dessert that you can enjoy with a meal. My suggestion after you take it out of the oven, sprinkle with mini marshmallows and let the warmth of the casserole melt them for a 3 layer treat from heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this recipe last year and my family loved it. I had to search for it this year because I didn't save it. I am so glad I found, I don't know what I would have done without it. When you are ready to say goodbye to the old marshmallow routine and ready for a more adult taste...try this recipe!!! KUDOS to the inventor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is the best Sweet Potato Casserole I ever had. The rum definitely gave an additive spice to the casserole. Thumbs up for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Excellent. Doesn't have to be served for a holiday - I served it at dinner club last night and everyone raved. I agree on the overpowering taste of rum though. Next time will only do 1/4 cup. Also won't add melted butter to topping mixture either - was difficult to spread. Omit melted butter for topping and you can sprinkle it on much easier. Thanx for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
********** The best sweet potato casserole we have ever had! The whole family just raved, we had it for Thanksgiving and they wanted it again for Christmas. Will always be on our Holiday Table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
My husband just loved this recipe, even though I used light rum. He usually never says anything, so it made my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
OMG! This is soooo delicious! The crunchy topping was awesome and my family could not stop eating this!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This is absolutely FANTASTIC. I made it on Thanksgiving and now I am committed to forever bringing it for every holiday celebration. It is very sweet and VERY heavy on the rum, so I'd cut back on the rum a little bit if you're not big on a rummy taste. But my family ate the whole thing as is and couldn't get enough of it. It's VERY good! I keep kosher and made it with vanilla soymilk and margarine instead of butter, to make it dairy-free, and it was just as delicious! (Leave the vanilla out if you use vanilla soymilk!) This is definitely a 10-star recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States