Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Not for those who actually LIKE sweet potatoes. I thought this recipe sounded delicious and was pleased with the many wonderful reviews, so I made it for Thanksgiving last week. It's still sitting in my frig with about 3 spoonfuls missing while the rest of the food is nearly gone. I should have read more carefully all of the reviews that say things like "those who don't normally like sweet pototoes will love this" and "tastes more like a pie" --- it's a GREAT RECIPE for those who want something like that (just reduce the rum), but for those who like sweet potatoes and hearty flavorful healthy food, stick to a traditional recipe. One plus - the struesel topping is great and I think in the future I may use that on my old recipe in place of marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I like this dish. I think it is too sweet because of the sweetness of the rum combined with the cup of white sugar and cup of brown sugar. I recommend reducing the white sugar to 1/2 cup, and use a dark rum. The reason this dish is so good is the flavor of the dark rum. Light or white rum will just add sweetness, and not as much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was a little too sweet for my liking. I'd suggest cutting the sugar in half and reducing the rum to 1/4 cup. I think that the natural taste of sweet potatoes is just as nice as this dish, without all the extra calories. Makes a nice side dish, but is rather time-consuming. Next time I'll just steam and mash my sweet potatoes with a little milk for a healthier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was very good; I used spiced rum. I also didn't have enough sweet potatoes so I used some butternut squash. I did not melt the butter for the topping and it worked really well. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Delicious, and rich, rich, rich! Made it for Thanksgiving and it was a definite hit! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Too much sugar - it was better with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving dinner! I cut back on the rum slightly as I was afraid of overpowering the sweet potatoes. The pecan topping was fantastic! An outstanding dish - will definately make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is an outstanding recipe!!! People that didn't like sweet potato were not only eating but loving this!!! It was a big hit at our family Thankgiving dinner. Thank you Casey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Excellent! I used Capt. Morgan's spiced rum and reduced the amount to 1/4 cup. This is a more sophisticated, complex tasting version of sweet potato casserole. I will never make the marshmallow version again. Thanks Casey for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States