Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Always a great hit! Never any left over. Great sweet & rum flavor! This year I will try what other reviews suggested about using more & fresh sweet potato instead of canned. My family requests this recipe year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
My family loves this holiday dish. I only use a splash of rum, and use regular flour and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gleemomof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Like dessert. Better to halve the sugar. Very good recipe. everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
YUM!! Huge success at Thanksgiving! I don't like to drink rum, but it's to die for in this recipe. Some reviews state the rum was strong but I disagree. I followed the directions exactly and the taste was there but discreet. For example everyone asked what the flavoring was in the casserole that made it so good. I've tried other similar recipes but this one turned out the best. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I was looking for the mashed sweet potato recipe that uses marshmallows when I came across this one. I'm sooo glad I did. I gave the recipe to my nephew and his mother helped him make it. They used fresh sweet potatoes and Bacardi Dark rum. Everyone loved this recipe, my nephew was very proud and promised to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I pulled up this recipe the day before Thanksgiving, and gave it a try. My in-laws are still calling me for the recipe! I thought it was much too sweet, but they thought it was fantastic! I made this in a 2Q round casserole and it still came out great...although I had to use the broiler to finish browning the top. Love the rum flavor (Mount Gay) and I used fresh, whole sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Absolutely Awesome. I could live on this stuff. Was a real hit at our family Thanksgiving table. The rum flavor was superb. I like one of the other readers used whole sweet potato's. Please do not used the cannned syrupy ones. Will keep this recipe forever, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
No one, and I mean no one, at Thanksgiving dinner had had a better sweet potato dish! I wonder if the people who think it was too sweet used canned, which is packed in syrup. Use 6 to 8 good sized sweet potatos, peel, quarter, and boil until tender. I used an electric beater to mash. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was a nice change. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. Used 1/3 c. Myers dark rum and the rum flavor is pretty strong but we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this recipe for my dinner club and everyone LOVED it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States