Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
WOW! This is a recipe that can be tailored to everyone. Following others advise, I increased potatoes by 2+ cups, decreased sugar to 1/2c. I tried different levels of rum, and ended up with 1/3 cup per recipe. I like the rum, and with extra potatoes it wasn't too strong for me. Biggest change was I didn't use any butter at all. Eliminating butter in sweet potatoes and in topping as previously suggested saved 1300+ calories, and it was GREAT! Thank you for such a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
DO NOT REDUCE THE RUM like the other reviews said!! I just made this and it was a perfect fit at Thanksgiving. Everyone raved about it. NEEDS the 1/3 cup of rum. Also, you HAVE to make sure you put the melted butter in the topping- someone wrote to delete it, but it has flour in it, so who wants to eat dried flour? Perfect the way it is- don't mess with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Made this 3 years in a row for Thanksgiving, and will be making it for years to come! It is ridiculously good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. It has become a family holiday tradition. I have made it with our without the rum. My husband who isn’t a huge sweet potato fan LOVES this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I started making this recipe in 2002. It quickly became a family favorite for the large holiday family dinners. I am not asked if I will make it anymore, it's expected that I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good. I lowered the amount of rum also. I managed to get people who were adamantly opposed to eating sweet potatoes to enjoy them. Couldn't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Wow....either I missed the boat or the recipe was wrong. I used the converter to make this dish for 25 people (because the 30 person conversion was not working properly). When I made it, it seemed awfully soupy, but I figured it would set in oven. Well, I ended up to what amounted to applesauce consistency. It was incredibly too sweet and too much rum. Due to all te great reviews I am sure it was the conversion and not the recipe itself. Just a warning for anybody making larger quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I am typically not a sweet potato eater, and I loved this cassarole! It was so good and very flavorful--the rum gave it a great taste! My only critique is that it was a little sweet and next time I make it I will reduce the sugar. I will definitely be making this again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Tried this today was great changed the sugar like everyone said and the rum turned out nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smiday
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Outstanding!!! I made this for an office Thanksgiving party and it was a BIG hit! I used canned yams (drained and whipped in the food processor) and artificial rum flavoring because I couldn't find real rum. The recipe is very easy, too. Try this one! You will NOT regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States