Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I changed the recipe by using 1/2 cup of white sugar, 1/4 cup of spiced rum and added 2 cups mashed sweet potatoes (5 in total). I also used regular white flour. The rest I followed as instructed and WOW - what a hit!!! I would DEFINITELY recommend this recipe for Thanksgiving you will NOT be disappointed!!! The topping is sweet and crunchy!!! Our family has been making it for the last 2 years and this year will be our 3rd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I have made this recipe for a couple of years, with some adjustments. Increase the amount of sweet potatos by 2 cups, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, add 1/4 cup dark rum and 1/4 cup Grand Marnier. We just love the flavor and texture of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
No one, and I mean no one, at Thanksgiving dinner had had a better sweet potato dish! I wonder if the people who think it was too sweet used canned, which is packed in syrup. Use 6 to 8 good sized sweet potatos, peel, quarter, and boil until tender. I used an electric beater to mash. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Excellent. Doesn't have to be served for a holiday - I served it at dinner club last night and everyone raved. I agree on the overpowering taste of rum though. Next time will only do 1/4 cup. Also won't add melted butter to topping mixture either - was difficult to spread. Omit melted butter for topping and you can sprinkle it on much easier. Thanx for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Excellent! I used Capt. Morgan's spiced rum and reduced the amount to 1/4 cup. This is a more sophisticated, complex tasting version of sweet potato casserole. I will never make the marshmallow version again. Thanks Casey for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was 100... no, 110% delicious! WOW! I made this to go with X-mas dinner, and will make it a new standard thing. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John in Tampa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
slightly too sweet. would try less white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This is absolutely FANTASTIC. I made it on Thanksgiving and now I am committed to forever bringing it for every holiday celebration. It is very sweet and VERY heavy on the rum, so I'd cut back on the rum a little bit if you're not big on a rummy taste. But my family ate the whole thing as is and couldn't get enough of it. It's VERY good! I keep kosher and made it with vanilla soymilk and margarine instead of butter, to make it dairy-free, and it was just as delicious! (Leave the vanilla out if you use vanilla soymilk!) This is definitely a 10-star recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We have a favorite restaurant that makes an awesome sweet potato casserole and I thought I had found one that was close to it. Well.... Now I know I hadn't found it until I tried this recipe! This is an awesome recipe. I made this last night to go with grilled salmon, broccoli, and a great bottle of chardonnay. This is the best - the rum is what really gives this first prize! The topping is quite good also. My husband who thinks sweet potatoes are only "OK", ate 3 helpings of this and declared it fabulous! It went especially well with the wine. This recipe is my new favorite and will be on my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great holiday recipe. I chopped the pecans finely in a food processor and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinnamin to the topping for some extra holiday aroma and flavor. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States