Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Super delish. Not HARD to make, just takes a while. We tried it virgin first, and found it too sweet, and too vanilla-y, but when we added the rum, wow, it was awesome. Just right. Not exactly traditional, but super good. Coulda drank the whole thing. The 1/4 cup rum couldn't even be tasted, but it perked the flavor up and balanced it out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just discover this drink and was thrilled to find the recipe and yes Rum was the perfect mixer. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieshadover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Can I rate this 6 stars?! It was THAT good!! Taste even better than the one I ordered in the Mexican restaurant! Even my dad loved it and he is VERY picky about his drinks! Took a long time to prepare but well worth the wait! It is good with or without the rum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was not previously a fan of Horchata when I had tried it other places because it seemed too sweet. This is a great recipe! My husband, not previously a fan either really liked it. I made it for a Latin themed meeting and it is delicious with or without the rum. I made both versions so that people had a choice. As one of my friends advised me....the colder the better. So, I put as much as I could fit in the chest freezer and the temperature really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This drink is very nice. It has a flavour that is reminiscent of coconut perhaps, reminds you of an Island drink which is nice when it's a snowy cold day outside! We had this without the rhum. We will be using the rice to make a hot rice pudding. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe almost as is except omitted the rum. I did accidentally use almost boiling water, though. It was really, really good! Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
made this for a back yard party-along with tropical fruit kabobs (sprinkled with TAJIN seasoning) worth the time! LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Unbelievable recipe! Have made with and without rum...I probably make this recipe at least once a week for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was delicious, though I haven't had horchata in awhile so I'm not sure how authentic it is. I generally don't like to add alcohol to drinks that are usually non-alcoholic but I do think adding rum really enhances the flavor. I also added a little bit of honey and used short grained rice because it was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmzhao82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
great drink all the moms as my MOPS meeting loved it. I did omit the rum as for the nursing mothers and it was 9 in the morning. great for a family friendly cinco de mayo gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States