Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Awesome! Better than any I've had in Mexican restuarants. My food processor broke down, so I grinded the rice as well as I could with a hand mixer (the kind you use to cream butter and sugar for cookies). Good even without the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Hard to add anything new here, but truly a great horchata recipe. Family (who have had many a bad, and sometimes a good horchata) raved about it, asked for the recipe, can't wait for the next Cinco de Mayo, etc, etc. I let it stand for 4 hours on the second soaking, then mixed everything and refrigerated overnight. No rum needed! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good! I haven't fully played around with the recipe yet, but from what I've done so far I would suggest two changes: 1) Cut down the amount of sweetened condensed milk to about 10 oz. I only used 10 oz and it seems very sweet already. 2) More rum! Of course, the amount is optional, but I added 1/2 cup right off the hop and I think I'll probably add another 1/2 cup. Although I won't recommend putting this much rum in on a hot day--you'll end up drinking it much too fast! Overall, a great recipe. Better than previous type of horchata I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
20 years later and this recipe fulfills the horchata I had at a festival and have been craving since then! Thank you for this :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuindam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Love it ! I "just" made it and tried it before I put it in the refridgerator and the flavor brings me to my memories of Christmas drinking Coquito (Puerto Rican egg nog). This is far easier to meke and is much lighter - so it's definitely a great summertime drink. I bet the kids would love it (had I not added the rum). Next time will double it and make one virgin and one without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Love it! Better than most/maybe all horchatas I've bought when going out, just as-is. Don't think that you're gonna get drunk on this, the spike is small. If you try to add more so you can get tipsy, you'll just ruin good horchata. I like to make it for picnics and put the rum on the side for people to add at will. It's never white, though I'm also fond of adding in cloves, nutmeg, and allspice, so mine is probably darker than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've never been to Mexico for "real" horchata, but this tastes JUST like the stuff I get at our favorite Mexican restaurant. Great as a virgin drink or with the rum - I recommend leaving out the rum until ready to drink. And remember to mix well before each pour to get maximum flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
i just made this and let me tell YOU a thing or two!! AWESOME!! loved it!! i added a bit of coconut milk and a bit more cinnamon..i doubled the whole recipe cuz im serving a large crowd but OMGSH i love it! gread job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I tried 2 different recipes and this one by far is the best. I substitued Creme of Coconut for sweetened condensed milk because I didn't have anycondensed milk. LOVE THIS. This recipe is a keeper. hint: DO NOT COOK OR BOIL THE RICE as other recipes may instruct (rice turns to glop once cooked and puréed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Yummy! Wish it took less time to prepare but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States