Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I grew up on horchata in Arizona and this is pretty darn good. Inspired by the show Psych, I made this to go with the Cinnamon Pie recipe on this site, and they comliment eachother very well. Perhaps because I am eating it with pie, I found it to be a bit mild but it can always be sweetened and garnished with more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Apparently clear rum goes really well with this drink...unfortunately my rum bottle is now empty :-( Sad Face. This is yummy. Make it and add some rum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is soooo good!! My husband and I had never had horchata before and LOVED it. I made it because we were having a Mexican meal with someone who loves horchata and he said it tastes just like the restaurants! I have made it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Awesome! Better than any I've had in Mexican restuarants. My food processor broke down, so I grinded the rice as well as I could with a hand mixer (the kind you use to cream butter and sugar for cookies). Good even without the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Hard to add anything new here, but truly a great horchata recipe. Family (who have had many a bad, and sometimes a good horchata) raved about it, asked for the recipe, can't wait for the next Cinco de Mayo, etc, etc. I let it stand for 4 hours on the second soaking, then mixed everything and refrigerated overnight. No rum needed! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good! I haven't fully played around with the recipe yet, but from what I've done so far I would suggest two changes: 1) Cut down the amount of sweetened condensed milk to about 10 oz. I only used 10 oz and it seems very sweet already. 2) More rum! Of course, the amount is optional, but I added 1/2 cup right off the hop and I think I'll probably add another 1/2 cup. Although I won't recommend putting this much rum in on a hot day--you'll end up drinking it much too fast! Overall, a great recipe. Better than previous type of horchata I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
20 years later and this recipe fulfills the horchata I had at a festival and have been craving since then! Thank you for this :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuindam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Love it ! I "just" made it and tried it before I put it in the refridgerator and the flavor brings me to my memories of Christmas drinking Coquito (Puerto Rican egg nog). This is far easier to meke and is much lighter - so it's definitely a great summertime drink. I bet the kids would love it (had I not added the rum). Next time will double it and make one virgin and one without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Love it! Better than most/maybe all horchatas I've bought when going out, just as-is. Don't think that you're gonna get drunk on this, the spike is small. If you try to add more so you can get tipsy, you'll just ruin good horchata. I like to make it for picnics and put the rum on the side for people to add at will. It's never white, though I'm also fond of adding in cloves, nutmeg, and allspice, so mine is probably darker than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've never been to Mexico for "real" horchata, but this tastes JUST like the stuff I get at our favorite Mexican restaurant. Great as a virgin drink or with the rum - I recommend leaving out the rum until ready to drink. And remember to mix well before each pour to get maximum flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States