Rum Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made some of the suggested modification. Yogurt and rum for soaking. No rum extract as that has been too strong in the past. I let it rise over night since it didn't rise at all in machine. 35 min in oven at 350. It needed cinnamon. It was airy and yummy. I have requests from my 4 year sold for more raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Good but not great. I used my bread machine and it made a very small 1/2 loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great way to use those dried-up golden raisins that got lost in the back of my cabinet. Soaked them in rum for a couple of days, nothing left to drain. Most delicious raisin bread we've had in ages! Moist, tender, just yummy. Used half white whole wheat flour and half bread flour, ended up adding a few T. more to tighten up the dough. Also don't keep heavy cream on hand so used yogurt. Once dough raised in bread machine, took it out, patted into a rectangle, spread w/butter, sprinkled w/sugar and cinnamon and some chopped walnuts, rolled it jelly-roll style, let rise again and baked it in the oven @ 350 degrees, 30 min. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I didn't have whipping cream so I used sour cream and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I modified the recipe by increasing it about 50 percent since several reviewers commented that the loaf was small. I wasn't sure I had the proportions correct but it came out great. I am going to add the raisins later in the kneading process so they are not as chopped. I also didn't add the rum extract to the recipe, did use 1/3 dark raisins, 1/3 golden raisins and 1/3 dried cranberries, coated the fruit in nutmeg and cinnamon before added it to the dough. A soft, tasty loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was a great raisin bread I added 1-1/2 Tablespoons of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stbraun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was awesome! It was a little on the soft side and I usually like a crispy crust but it was good. Very flavorful and good. Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is the best bread machine bread I ever had! WOW! I omit the rum extract. And I do not have any dry milk....ever....so I just skip it...but still. YUMMMMMMMM! I am making it for my 1st graders class for snack next week. YUMMMMM, hey. Did I say YUMMMMMM?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookie4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great recipe! My husband loved it. It's a little more like a polish egg bread than a normal bread, though. I also made a great version of this bread with a few modifications: I substitutes half the flour for whole wheat pastry flour, and I added half of a cooked yam to the mix (and omitted the raisins and rum). Yummy! An excellent bright yellow potato bread. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I loved this bread even though I forgot the egg and didn't use rum to soak the raisins. I soaked the raisins in water, used vanilla yogert inplace of cream and threw in a pinch of cinnimon. Even without the egg - it was GOOD. Gotta try it again with the egg! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States