Rum Cranberry Applesauce Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Perfect cake! I skipped the glaze and, instead of applesause, added two ground Granny Smith apples. It stayed covered overnight and next morning was nicely moist. Will bake it again and again, and maybe will add walnuts next time. Perfect combination of rum, tart cranberries, and sweetness. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina Zakon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Take heart, fellow non bakers! I made this exactly as specified by the recipe, and it was moist, flavorful, and quite special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Soaking the cranberries is a MUST! Excellent Cake. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I think soaking the cranberries in rum would eliminate the dry texture of the cake. The glaze is super good but almost needed to be doubled. It wasn't bad right out of the oven, but the next day, it was super dry. I think the cranberries sucked all the moisture right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Rum, cinnamon, craisins, applesauce, caramel - toooo many competing flavors. Cake was moist, but I did not care for the glaze at all. It did not go well with the cake, and it was thin and sugary. I would have preferered a traditional sugar and rum syrup brushed onto the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This rating is for the cake only...no icing. It was good, a little dry though. The Applesauce Cake in Fannie Farmer is still the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Excellent, moist cake with just the right amount of rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Nice recipe. I agree with the person who said this is dry without the glaze. Don't skip the glaze!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great combo of flavors, but I made a few changes: I substituted pumpkin puree for the applesauce, added nutmeg, ginger and raisins. Also, I used fresh instead of dried cranberries, but would recommend using the dried since the fresh are incredibly tart. Overall great texture and flavor (can really taste the rum in the glaze). I will make this again but without the fresh cranberries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Moist and delicious, even without the glaze. Like cranberry-studded gingerbread. I hydrated the cranberries in boiling water, drained and soaked them with 1-2 tbsp. of rum before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Cheney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States