Rum Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
the best...i made them exact to recipe except nuts...husband can't eat nuts...they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
PERFECT!!!....this recipe is a keeper. Very easy, followed recipe exactly and used coconut rum. I crushed wafers in food processer and peacans also then put mixture in freezer for about 45 min before rolling into balls then roled in finely chopped peacans. Very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This has been a staple in my home for the last 3 years. So much so, in fact that I now have to triple or even quadruple the recipe. I use these a gifts for my accounts (I'm in the liquor industry so these are just perfect!) and they are a hit! Not only that, but my husband loves them as well so I have to make extras and hide them at my neighbour's house where hubby can't find them. To switch it up a little, I roll these in coconut, icing sugar, cocoa, or those holiday sprinkles. I put 4-8 inside a plastic baggie, tie it with some ribbon and voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent, also tried with canadian whiskey rolled in powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
these are great. i use flavored rums and drizzle white chocolate over them and give them out at xmas time. everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Just like my Grandma used to make. These have a truffle-like texture, just be sure to grind the cookies & nuts very fine in a food processor. I used a cookie scoop and dumped the balls into a bag of powdered sugar and then rolled them into smooth balls. No mess at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very easy to make and all the rave of the party! I changed the rum to spiced and rolled them in pecans for a nice touch. What do you think about pina-colada balls? I will let you know how they work out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Love them....made a batch with Banana Rum and a batch with Coconut Rum. Also changed it up and made a batch with Cherry Brandy. Best Rum Ball recipe we have come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I'm not sure my review counts for much since I was forced to make some modifications to the recipe. We have a nut allergy in the family so I tried to think of a substitute and decided on cherries. I drained and finely chopped a 6 oz jar of marischino cherries. I then discovered I only had 1/4 cup of rum, so I added 1/4 cup of the maraschino juice to bring the liquid up to 1/2 cup. My rum balls came out quite nice, someone even asked me for the recipe. 1/2 cup of rum would make them very strong because they are pretty potent with only 1/4 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Since I was taking this into work, I took the advice of some other comments and cut the amount of rum in half (okay, maybe an overflowing half). What I did not have the wit to realize is that for these you really must replace the missing liquid somehow -- perhaps simply with water, or maybe more melted chocolate would work. (Although I had added 2 t. of vanilla, since I was using the unflavored cookies that are the closest vanilla-wafer substitute in my country of residence.) Without the extra 1/4 c. of rum, the flavor of these was good, but the texture was crumbly and difficult to form into balls. Not that my coworkers really minded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States