Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is the best rum cake ever!! I did reduce the amount of sugar in the cake batter by 1/2 cup as I don't like a cake that is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I have made this recipe for about 7 years. I like it's versatility. I have used Jack Daniels, Amaretto, Captain Morgans. I susbtitute 2% milk sometime for the buttermilk. Add pecans and Marchino cherries to the bottom of the pan to make it look festive. I have also used Brown sugar, butter and pecans to make a crumble. No matter what I use it's always a hit. To me it's better the longer it ages. I make it a day or two before serving. I have sent it down range to many friends that have deployed and it is always a hit down range. It travels so well and stays fresh! For them I don't use any alcohol but use about 2t of extract for the glaze(almond, rum, coconut and rum). A definite on my holiday dessert table EVERY year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a wonderful cake. I don't know what the other reviewers did but mine came out perfect. Great with eggnog ice cream. The cake was light not dense. I sifted my dry ingredients twice. I also made sure that the butter and sugar was nice and fluffy. When making the cake you must take you time. The other trick is to poke enough holes in it so the glaze goes through it. Remember this is a homemade cake, not a box mix. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I like subsituting extra rum for the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Excellent!!! The only change I was made was I added a simple powdered sugar glaze made with rum as the liquid rather than milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This is delicious! I was out of rum extract, so I substituted dark rum, and it worked great. I added pecan halves to the pan before pouring in the batter, which went well with butter and rum flavors. It disappeared quickly, and I had several requests for the recipe. I will definitely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
The cake itself is easy to make and very tastie. I found that that the rum/butter/sugar topping is too rich and too much to pour over the cake. The next time I make this, I will half the topping. Also, what I did is poke a lot of holes into the cake and poured the topping down. It's a very rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Delicious. I didn't have buttermilk but regular milk worked great. A special cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I've made a version for years of this with cake & pudding mixes. It's yummier but I like not using all those chemicals from the mixes. After 20 years of making rum cakes, please follow my advice: MUST USE DARK RUM! White rum just won't cut it. Also, instead of buttermilk, use half milk & half rum & no nasty rum flavoring. Can add pecans in the bottom of the pan. For the glaze, 1 stick of butter is greatly sufficient. If you want more glaze, add more sugar & rum with additional butter so it won't be so greasy. I prefer to boil the glaze until it gets thick before pouring over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
great rum cake everyone that has tried it loves this cake tip if you don,t like rum than you won,t like this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States