Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MISSJACKIE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Quite yummy, but you definitely need the glaze. If the top of the cake doesn't have cracks (which mine did) you may want to poke holes in it to let the glaze seep through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a wonderful cake. I don't know what the other reviewers did but mine came out perfect. Great with eggnog ice cream. The cake was light not dense. I sifted my dry ingredients twice. I also made sure that the butter and sugar was nice and fluffy. When making the cake you must take you time. The other trick is to poke enough holes in it so the glaze goes through it. Remember this is a homemade cake, not a box mix. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
While I was very happy to find a Rum Cake recipe that didn't use a cake mix, I think I'll experiment with the flavor next time I make it. I like a bit of rum flavor in the actual cake, so I may try to incorporate some rum into the batter. I poked the cake with a skewer before pouring on the glaze so the rum flavor was really concentrated in the holes in which it was poured. I loved the texture and density of the cake though and it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I have made this recipe for about 7 years. I like it's versatility. I have used Jack Daniels, Amaretto, Captain Morgans. I susbtitute 2% milk sometime for the buttermilk. Add pecans and Marchino cherries to the bottom of the pan to make it look festive. I have also used Brown sugar, butter and pecans to make a crumble. No matter what I use it's always a hit. To me it's better the longer it ages. I make it a day or two before serving. I have sent it down range to many friends that have deployed and it is always a hit down range. It travels so well and stays fresh! For them I don't use any alcohol but use about 2t of extract for the glaze(almond, rum, coconut and rum). A definite on my holiday dessert table EVERY year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I like subsituting extra rum for the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I liked this recipe because it was one of the recipes that didn't use a mix for the cake base. All the sugar makes it terribly sweet but you NEED the syrup to moisten the cake which is dense but dry. I made it in mini-bundt pans and it turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Everybody seemed to like this dense cake. The only complaint is that the glaze was not evenly distributed throughout the cake. I didn't want to poke holes in the cake but next time I will have to. I might also try folding in the egg whites to give it a more airy texture, less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
The cake itself is easy to make and very tastie. I found that that the rum/butter/sugar topping is too rich and too much to pour over the cake. The next time I make this, I will half the topping. Also, what I did is poke a lot of holes into the cake and poured the topping down. It's a very rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I thought the cake was okay, but I must agree with another reviewer who said it was a bit too floury. It was a heavy and dense cake. People liked it, but I would probably use a different yellow cake recipie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This is delicious! I was out of rum extract, so I substituted dark rum, and it worked great. I added pecan halves to the pan before pouring in the batter, which went well with butter and rum flavors. It disappeared quickly, and I had several requests for the recipe. I will definitely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States