Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent cake. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNSUBSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cisco, Texas, USA
Living In: Itasca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I have made it a few times and I am always asked for the recipe. I had to change somethings just because I didn't have certain ingrediants in the house. I don't have buttermilk so I add 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup milk. It makes the cake a bit denser but I like that because it holds the sauce better without it falling apart. I also only had 1 cup butter and 1 cup margerine so I did half and half in the glaze and the cake and it turned out just fine. I also like to sugar my bundt pan by coating it with cooking spray and then putting sugar all around the sides instead of greasing and flouring the pan. It gives the outside of the cake a crunchy sugary glaze. I also only have Rum flavored oil which is quite strong. So I do 1/4th tsp. of that in the cake and then I add 1/4th tsp. into a half cup water and add that to the glaze. It all works out perfect. I also love that this cake is from scratch because all the recipes I have found on here for rum cake only use boxed cake mixes and I usually don't have those on hand. Thank you SOOO much for a super duper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTI40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Great recipe. I ended up doing a few substitutions based on reviews and what I had in my kitchen. I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk, I used 1/2 cup rum instead of rum extract(not overpowering at all). For the glaze, I felt it was a little overpowering with rum, next time I'll probably only use 1/4 cup. I poked TONS of holes in the cake but did have a hard time getting it to soak up the glaze, next time I'll try to submerge it more somehow because the glaze pooled in the middle and the middle 1 inch of the cake soaked it up very well. The cake itself is a heavy cake, very dense, but it is very nice! Next time I will add nuts to the cake batter or to the bottom of the pan. This recipe will defiantly stay in my kitchen with just those few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
To die for! I added 2 tablespoons of orange zest and baked it in 3 small loaf pans instead of the tube pan for 50 minutes, that way you can share with other people ! I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made this cake for my husband, just because. I messed up and instead of putting the extract in the the cake mix I ended up putting 1/2 a cup of rum. SO the cake ended up with a cup of rum in it and no rum extract. Hubby LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was the yummiest of yummy! Made for hubby's birthday cake, not knowing what to expect, but tired of the usual yellow cake and buttercream frosting. I used a silicone bundt pan, and after one hour, took out of oven and inserted a wooden skewer that came out very wet. Being afraid that this had not cooked entirely, I put back in the oven for another 15 minutes, which was a big mistake. It was thoroughly cooked, and in fact, more than golden brown. The salvation was the glaze, and oh it is so delish!!! I inserted many holes in the cake before glazing, and oh, it was so moist!!! This was the true secret. Tons of holes and do not overcook! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALNANGELZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
The cake itself was amazing. Fluffy and delicious - a great base for all my future non-chocolate cakes! The glaze was kind of strong for me, but my fiance loved it! I didn´t need to poke holes or anything, all the glaze was absorbed in 2 hours. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i love this cake! i do like that it's made from scratch. when i made it, the cake turned out slightly dense but i figured it would. it wasn't dry even though i opted not to put a glaze on it, and instead dusted it with powdered sugar. i put in about 2.5 tsp of the rum extract to add more flavor, which i guess is important if you don't use the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Cake worked out just fine though measurements start in Grams/Ounces then revert to cups. Maybe a little confusing for anyone not too confident in translating measurements. They are kind of important for at least the first time you try something out. Also if you, are using the later silicone baking moulds then reduce your temperature by about 10 percent to compensate for the better heat conduction. Plenty of Rum in the glaze goes down a treat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Excellent, moist, flavorful cake! I didn't have rum extract so I used almond in the cake instead and added a splash of dark rum. I also didn't have buttermilk but had sour milk. A total hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States