Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was probably the first rum cake I ever tasted (many yrs. ago). Have tried several since (some with cake mixes) but this one wins out. Definitely needs lots of beating and care in preparation otherwise you will have a heavy cake. Please remember it will not have a cake mix texture, but for me that is a plus. Enjoy.... and thanks for submnitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I am new to baking so I decided to follow the recipe as close as possible. The cake was very easy to make and needed most of the indregients I already had at home. It was very moist and delicious. Next time I will add pecans and top it off with ice cream. Now I have a cake for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Really yummy! I made cupcakes out of this recipe and they were a hit! I omitted the rum extract and used only the rum. I also made a vanilla icing with coconut flakes and a dash more rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaturalGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a really good cake, but I'd maybe decrease the amount of butter in the glaze; it's just a little too buttery for my taste, but still good! I cut the recipe in half and made it in a loaf pan. I added 1/8 a cup of rum to the batter and used skim milk + a tablespoon of light sour cream since I had no buttermilk, and I added some almond extract. I made sure to cream everything well with my hand mixer. I used brown sugar in the glaze because I ran out of white when making the cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My husband flipped over this rum cake. Usually he likes to buy those famous store bought brands but they are so small and grossly overpriced. So I tried this one and it certainly didn't last long. One thing I did change - I used pineapple rum since that is what we had on hand and it was quite tasty that way. Super moist and the glaze soaks in very nicely, which I have found to be a problem with other rum cake recipes I've tried - but not this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This cake is awesome. I've made it about 3 times with amazing results and reviews. I used between 1/4 and 1/2 cup of rum instead of the rum extract and used regular milk instead of buttermilk. I also reserve some of the glaze, crush some pecans and pour over the cake before serving. Make sure you leave the cake in pan for at least 2 hours. It's necessary or the glaze doesn't set right. Next time, I'll try the idea of coating the bundt pan with sugar. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Thank you, Brenda for sharing this receipe. I baked the cake on Sunday for my nephew's 28th birthday. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SU45
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I also used the 1/2 cup dark rum as other 's suggested I was worried about all the butter for the glaze but turned out great i made sure I waited the 2 hours and the cake sucked it up no problem thanks to all for your tips this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent moist cake! Instead using regular all purpose flour I used cake flour. Also added a few extra tablespoons of rum to the glaze mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
A nice filling cake, not airy like store bought. should've let the glaze soak longer before flipping onto cake dish, but it was super yummy and didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States