Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've been making this cake for 3 years or better. It's fantastic. When I make it instead of rum extract I use orange extract. I've used Redrum rum or my personal favorite Malibu pineapple rum, gives it a great citrus flavor. Never had a complaint even from people who don't like that much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This cake turned out perfectly. It is moist, dense and full of flavor. It will be a mainstay desert from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! One thing that really annoys me when looking for cake recipes is when one of the first ingredients is "Cake Mix". If I wanted a store bought cake I'd buy one! This is an exceptionally good from scratch rum cake. Took reviewer's advice and poked holes in the cake before glazing and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
tried this recipe last saturday for dinner over friends house. I wanted a "real" cake not boxed flavor for my rum cake. i followed this recipe EXACTLY and was so disappointed! cake was dry and flavorless and the glaze was way too sweet. next time i'll stick with the box and doctor it up myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I've made a version for years of this with cake & pudding mixes. It's yummier but I like not using all those chemicals from the mixes. After 20 years of making rum cakes, please follow my advice: MUST USE DARK RUM! White rum just won't cut it. Also, instead of buttermilk, use half milk & half rum & no nasty rum flavoring. Can add pecans in the bottom of the pan. For the glaze, 1 stick of butter is greatly sufficient. If you want more glaze, add more sugar & rum with additional butter so it won't be so greasy. I prefer to boil the glaze until it gets thick before pouring over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
MMMM good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was amazing!! I made it for my home group and everyone absolutely loved it! :D I am an American living in South Africa and we don't have yellow cake mix here but I found that this recipe (minus the rum) makes a great substitute if you don't have a yellow cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1stLady
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This cake was so goood and easy to make. I made this cake for christmas for the first time ever, and it turned out moist. I used cake flour instead of all purpose flour, and used unsalted butter, used light rum instead of rum flavored extract(didn't have it on hand), made a brown sugar and pecan topping. This cake will go in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
OMG. This cake is SO GOOD! I followed the directions exactly and it came out amazing! So moist even days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Trelfa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The cake was moist but I needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States