Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Made this for Thanksgiving and it got great reviews. What little was left over was gobbled up by me the next morning with a big cup of coffee. Umm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
A wonderfully moist and delicious cake. Plenty of rum and buttery flavor without getting too wet or heavy. I would highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
This is the only place I've been able to find a rum cake recipe that's as good as my aunt's (who won't share her recipe). Rum cake has become a Christmas tradition is our family. It's excellent with rum-spiked whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
I went to Grand Cayman at one time and thought they had the best rum cake in the world and have been searching for a comparable recipe for years.......I've finally found it and it's too close to the taste to know the difference! I made it for my speech class and I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
I made this one in a springform pan and cut it in half and added some apricot preserves and glaze over the top. It was the raves at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I brought this cake to my family's house on Christmas Eve and it was a big hit. My friend liked it so much we made another to take to his family's house on Christmas. It was a good reminder of our last vacation in the BVI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I have been making this cake 3 or 4 times per year, for the last 3 years. Everybody loves this cake. And the recipe is just wonderful. I made one last night, I forgot to let it cool, and it split in two, if this was a frosted cake I could cover up my screwup. hahahaha, try it you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Love this one. I've become famous for it at work and parties. I've taken a little twist on it and have substituted Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum (not such a harsh rum taste) for the rum and add in a banana for flavor. I usually leave off the nuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I have made this recipe before. It is very popular with all my friends. So delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
A simple wonderful cake for any occasion. I have made several times and always get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States