Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
This is the only place I've been able to find a rum cake recipe that's as good as my aunt's (who won't share her recipe). Rum cake has become a Christmas tradition is our family. It's excellent with rum-spiked whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
A wonderfully moist and delicious cake. Plenty of rum and buttery flavor without getting too wet or heavy. I would highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
I went to Grand Cayman at one time and thought they had the best rum cake in the world and have been searching for a comparable recipe for years.......I've finally found it and it's too close to the taste to know the difference! I made it for my speech class and I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
I made this one in a springform pan and cut it in half and added some apricot preserves and glaze over the top. It was the raves at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Made this for Thanksgiving and it got great reviews. What little was left over was gobbled up by me the next morning with a big cup of coffee. Umm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I brought this cake to my family's house on Christmas Eve and it was a big hit. My friend liked it so much we made another to take to his family's house on Christmas. It was a good reminder of our last vacation in the BVI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I have been making this cake 3 or 4 times per year, for the last 3 years. Everybody loves this cake. And the recipe is just wonderful. I made one last night, I forgot to let it cool, and it split in two, if this was a frosted cake I could cover up my screwup. hahahaha, try it you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Love this one. I've become famous for it at work and parties. I've taken a little twist on it and have substituted Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum (not such a harsh rum taste) for the rum and add in a banana for flavor. I usually leave off the nuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I have made this recipe before. It is very popular with all my friends. So delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
A simple wonderful cake for any occasion. I have made several times and always get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States