Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe for years - except I do mine a little differently.. I take the cake out of the oven poke holes in it and pour the glaze all over the cake while still in the pan. Then I let it sit at least two hours before inverting it. The whole cake is infused with the glaze and the top is nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This cake was very easy to make and was a big hit. My only suggestion to the recipe is to let it sit overnight once it is glazed. My husband and I tasted it right after the glaze was put on and the rum taste was overpowering. After it sit overnight, the rum had soaked into the cake and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
A friend of mine baked this cake and I loved it so much, I asked her for the recipe. However, I just want to point out that the directions for the glaze are somewhat misleading. I would suggest NOT boiling the glaze for 5 minutes. I did mine on moderately high heat for 5 minutes and it got very dark brown and I think burned. I would suggest on low heat for only a couple of minutes. That should really be noted in the recipe. If anyone else can suggest how they really make the glaze for this one, it would be most appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Super cake. I usually make cakes from scratch, however this came out great. I used white cake, banana cream pudding and Captian Morgan's Spiced rum. What a HUGE hit! I made it the night before and let the glaze soak in overnight. Super moist and tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I have made this cake a number of times now and it still a crowd favorite. I personally like to use more rum (typically a cup). The response from that is mixed, but the cake is always gone :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I used a good quality cake mix with the pudding already mixed in and it was perfect. Tips for the glazing, use chopsticks to poke holes into cake and pour glaze into empty bundt pan then reinsert cake to absorb glaze. Good dessert for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
YES!! This was so delicious. I served this after a delicious dinner and it was such a hit. I can't believe how easy it was to make. I did make one change. I didn't have instant vanilla pudding however, I did use a box of instant butterscotch pudding. Butterscotch and Rum go VERY well together. I also DOUBLED the glaze recipe. Also, prior to inverting onto a plate. I drizzled about a 1/2 cup of the glaze onto the plate so when I inverted the cake, I knew the bottom would get moist with the liquid gold. Result was a very moist cake all around. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seanclaudia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I think the person missed a key element...The cake glaze needs to be drizzled IMMEDIATELY on warm cake, NOT after it cools. Every recipe I have seen uses this method. This allows for better soaking into the cake for setting. Just like another person said, even though I tried to use a little more flavor in the cake, it STILL tasted like the 'box cake' it was made of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is the best rum cake I have ever had. I have been making it for Christmas for the last 5 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Amazing! It only took about 40 minutes to cook in a convection oven. I made double the glaze and slowly poured it on over 3 days. I used a butter knife, stuck it down in several spots and let the glaze pour slowly down the knife into the slit. Don't want to refrigerate it, then the glaze won't soak in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States