Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This cake surprised me by how good it was. I didn't think it was possible to have a box cake turn out with such substance. Great flavor, color, and presentation. Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This was the perfect ending of today's Cuban feast. It was so perfect, I had to have two pieces (one with whipped cream and one without) just to make sure I was experiencing real perfection and not a mere facsimile thereof. And to think I used to turn my nose up at boxed cake mix! This recipe certainly elevates the convenient to the sphere of the divine. (That's the rum talking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Christopholofigus
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Delicious. I cooled the cake for about 5 minutes. Then took it out of the pan, added the glaze in the bottom of the pan, and placed the cake back in to soak up the glaze. I also made a strawberry kiwi rum glazed (sugar, butter, rum, strawberries and kiwi) that i serve on the side (chilled).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopholofigus

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I can't give this 5 stars because it does not knock my socks off. I love the rum sauce, but the cake itself is just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by ANNEYVETTE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Rum not for the light weights out there. Cooked Perfectly in 50 minutes. Used Pecans instead of Walnuts. Next time I will serve ala mode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEYVETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I think the person missed a key element...The cake glaze needs to be drizzled IMMEDIATELY on warm cake, NOT after it cools. Every recipe I have seen uses this method. This allows for better soaking into the cake for setting. Just like another person said, even though I tried to use a little more flavor in the cake, it STILL tasted like the 'box cake' it was made of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very good recipe. I doubled the glaze and soaked my cake upside down for awhile and then turned it over and poured the other half of the glaze on top. Best to let set for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I have made this cake a number of times now and it still a crowd favorite. I personally like to use more rum (typically a cup). The response from that is mixed, but the cake is always gone :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
great rum cake ....very moist....people love the flavor.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe said the first time, and then the second time I combined a different recipe with it and it tasted even better. Here are the optional adaptations: chocolate cake instead of yellow, 7 oz. chocolate fudge pudding instead of vanilla, and I doubled the amount of water, oil, and rum (bourbon tastes great, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States