Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe for years - except I do mine a little differently.. I take the cake out of the oven poke holes in it and pour the glaze all over the cake while still in the pan. Then I let it sit at least two hours before inverting it. The whole cake is infused with the glaze and the top is nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
The best and easiest recipe ever!!! Everyone wants me to make this. I have tried inverting the cake back in with the rum sauce and everyone still likes it. However they prefer the drizzled on sauce. They like to gather the drippings from the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have mad ethi sfor various work functions and it is alwasy a big hit. Plus it was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
YES!! This was so delicious. I served this after a delicious dinner and it was such a hit. I can't believe how easy it was to make. I did make one change. I didn't have instant vanilla pudding however, I did use a box of instant butterscotch pudding. Butterscotch and Rum go VERY well together. I also DOUBLED the glaze recipe. Also, prior to inverting onto a plate. I drizzled about a 1/2 cup of the glaze onto the plate so when I inverted the cake, I knew the bottom would get moist with the liquid gold. Result was a very moist cake all around. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seanclaudia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was the absolute best cake we've ever had, and about the easiest to make. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Never made one before and I did it! Easy to make, looks beautiful and tastes great! My husband asked for one and thinks I really did it this time! I followed the directions to a T. Now I will make another one with chocolate cake mix and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I actually found this recipe someplace else but it's exactly the same. This cake is so awesome I didn't even want to share with anyone. I had to change it becuase I didn't have the exact ingredients it called for so instead of a yellow cake mix, I used a double choc cake mix and instead of vanilla pudding, I used choc pudding and intead of Rum, I used Southern Comfort! I also recommend you let it sit over night and eat it the next day so the flavors come together. And when your pouring the glaze on....make sure you pucture the cake all the way to the bottom so the cake is moist throughout and not just on the bottom after you invert it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Very tasty, but add 1/4 c more rum. My grandfather said that this was as good as his mother's rum cake, and he is not prone to praise... so this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Awsome cake. Great idea for any occasion! The rum isn't too strong, but nice enough to get the taste. It was very moist, and left a great after taste, making you want more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This came out pretty good. I had to substitute Brandy for the rum and I also used a spice cake for a richer flavor. I added the sauce while it was hot and packed it into the fridge overnight. I could tell it was a box cake though, thing is, it wouldn't keep me from making this cake again, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States