Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by cakenbake
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very good cake. I used slivered almonds for the nuts; and the only thing I did differently is when it was time to glaze it, I poured half the glaze into the bundt pan, put the cake back in it, and poured the rest of the glaze on top then just waited until it was soaked into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakenbake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made this cake for the first time for a friends birthday, and when she tried this cake she feel inlove with it and even asked for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flora Galdon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have used this recipe for years for both a rum cake and an orange coffee cake. To make the coffee cake, just substitute orange juice for the rum in both the cake and the glaze. It is always a big hit!!! I actually make the coffee cake more often than the rum cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I've had this recipe for at least 20years, and had forgotten I had it till I was rummaging around in my old recipe box. Without nuts, it tastes exactly like rum cakes we bought in Barbados. I think the nuts are a bit distracting. This is such a delicious cake, and easy. It was a big hit at an end-of-the-year college class party. My kids loved the leftovers,too. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
i've already mad 2 this week. They can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Just made this tonight and its AWESOME and really easy too! I love rum cake - ever since we went to the Caymen's and I bought almost $100 worth of Tortuga rum cakes to bring home. I will be making this all the time now! I doubled the glaze mix so I could really saturate the cake and have some left over to drizzle over the indivdiual slices...doubling was a bit too much...but maybe making 1/3 more would be perfect. Thanks - this was the perfect dessert for this holiday weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Simple and fantastic--I have gotten rave reviews every time I've baked this cake. As a garnish, I top the cake with a blend of powdered sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a pinch of ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Delicious !!!!! mom always makes this on holidays and I have helped .. its a bit difficult but if you want to impress somebody this is your recipe !!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I made this for July 4th and it was spectacular! Tasted and looked bakery quality. Had requests to make again immediately :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for a potluck and it was wonderful. I didn't have almonds, but I had pine nuts. It made it taste even more buttery. Sure HIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States