Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
It was good. I agree with other users that the rum was a bit overpowering so next time i'd cut the rum in half for the glaze. My mom and I both thought that it tasted better cold than warm~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is delicious and so easy! I used Bacardi Gold, and I really noticed the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was fantastic .... took it as the birthday cake for a friend and everyone raved over how light and moist it was. I followed the advice of one of the reviewers and combined all the wet ingredients before adding to the dry. I didn't change anything about the glaze, but did sprinkle a little bit of powdered sugar on top. I also made fresh whipped cream, added a little bit of powdered vanilla rum, and served it on the side. It was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is the best rum cake ever...I used black rum and chocolate cake mix & pudding. I won the office Christmas baking contest and also the admiration of my family . Stays very moist when wrapped properly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Rosebrugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made several of these for Thanksgiving, first one was as the recipe said, but the rum on the glaze was a lil strong still, so i recommend using 1/3 of a cup for the glaze if you arent much into alchohol. Other than that, I loved the original taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Easy and delicious! Friends think I spent hours baking this cake. As per suggestions, I poked numerous holes in the cake still in the pan, then I poured the glaze(double the recipe). Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I only gave it four stars because I too, agreed with other reviews and poured the glaze over the bottom of the cake while it was still hot. I also made a second batch of the glaze and poured it over the top of the cake once it was right side up. I think anything less and it wouldn't have had as much of the rum flavor. . .however it was a wonderful Thanksgiving dessert. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Love this cake! I let the eggs get to room temp and mix that with liquids prior to dry mix, seems to come out fuller. For glaze, add sugar slowly instead of all at once cooks the grittiness out better and thicker. I let cake cool completely, poke holes with kabob sticks and use turkey baster to drizzle over top. Soaks it all up! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crest Hill, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blackened_Heart
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I've made this twice, the first time following the recipe, the second time I swapped the yellow cake for chocolate cake and the rum for amaretto. It came out amazing both times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Loved it! Lighter than I expected, but was wonderful and not overpowered - just the right amount of rum flavor. I'll make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguin Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States