Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I make this rum cake all the time and everyone LOVES it. I get requests to make this for every function that I go to and people will literally sneak pieces to take home with them. My family prefers pecans instead of walnuts but that is the only substitution that I make. Just made one for Easter and now I'm making another one tonight for my son's birthday. Best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
yummy! easy to make and heavenly when it is warm! i will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Amazing! It only took about 40 minutes to cook in a convection oven. I made double the glaze and slowly poured it on over 3 days. I used a butter knife, stuck it down in several spots and let the glaze pour slowly down the knife into the slit. Don't want to refrigerate it, then the glaze won't soak in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I have made this recipie several times! And it comes out perfect everytime. I use Myers rum and even have tried to use a little extra rum for a stronger taste and its still comes out great. Instead of the vegetable oil I also like to use butter, this makes the cake extra moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The absolute best doctored cake mix (and we don't like cake mixes). Have made the exact same recipe for years and DEFINITELY put on glaze while hot. This cake gets better with age and will last for a week, covered, in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was a very easy way to make rum cake. I added a little extra rum, skipped the walnuts, and mixed chocolate chips in with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Sometimes I mix up the flavors of the cake mix to get better cakes. Like strawberry cake mix with coconut rum, spiced or carrot cake with spiced rum. You can even use chocolate cake & change the rum to Kahlúa or Baileys. The possabilities are endless. The only booze I would not recomend is Vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
It was good. I agree with other users that the rum was a bit overpowering so next time i'd cut the rum in half for the glaze. My mom and I both thought that it tasted better cold than warm~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States