Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe said the first time, and then the second time I combined a different recipe with it and it tasted even better. Here are the optional adaptations: chocolate cake instead of yellow, 7 oz. chocolate fudge pudding instead of vanilla, and I doubled the amount of water, oil, and rum (bourbon tastes great, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Very good rum cake. Best I ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This cake is absolutely amazing. We recently went to Jamaica and bought a rum cake and it was fabulous. Since then I'd been looking for a recipe and found this recipe. Everyone who had the one from Jamaica agrees that it tasted like it. To make it more healthy, I did use splenda, sugar free pudding and eggbeaters - I tried it with all different types of rum too (Brugal, Bacardi, etc.) and they have all been excellent. The last one I did I experimented by injecting some of the glaze into the cake - you have to be very careful because if you inject too much it will get a sour like taste to it if it is too much. Everyone enjoy and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is very similar to the rum cake my mom made every Christmas, which was the best rum cake ever! So, I'm very happy with the cake. My cake did not turn out as moist as I would have liked, but I didn't poke the holes into the cake as recommended for the glaze. The taste was wonderful and I'll make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I left out the topping and used powdered sugar. It was a good cake and really moist with lots of flavor. I froze it for 3 days and let it thaw out during the day. Really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Great cake! I have made this recipe several times over the last holiday season and it turned out perfect everytime. I used Golden rum (it was what I had) and let soak before serving as sugguested. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This cake was ok. I poked holes and let the glaze soak in overnight as was suggested but it still seemed pretty dry. I also put rum in the batter as was called for but the cakes still just tasted like regular boxed cake. But my family ate it all so it definitely wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Super cake. I usually make cakes from scratch, however this came out great. I used white cake, banana cream pudding and Captian Morgan's Spiced rum. What a HUGE hit! I made it the night before and let the glaze soak in overnight. Super moist and tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
GREAT RUM CAKE!!!! VERY EASY to make and VERY YUMMY. Suggestion for the glaze: As it cools it will thicken, I put it in the fridge for a few minutes, just a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
swisscook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States