Rum Balls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Everyone looooooves these cookies and they are so easy to prepare =D =D =D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
VERY IMPORTANT: It is much easier to scoop out a dollop of the dough and dump it into a bowl of confectioners sugar and then scoop it out and roll it into a ball. Otherwise I found it was impossible to get enough sugar on my hands to keep it from sticking. VERY TASTY RECIPE THOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These are yummy. I didn't realize until I was making them that my 1 package of vanilla wafers was only 12 oz. not 16 oz. Given that, I used less corn syrup so they wouldn't be too sticky. I started with a 1/4 cup and added more until the consisency was right. So make sure your oz. is right on the cookies and adjust corn syrup accordingly. I also couldn't make the sugar coated hands work. I used a cookie scoop to drop into a roll with sugar and rolled them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I used this recipe for the first time last night. It was very easy to do and the rum balls tasted delicious (we had to keep ourselves from eating them all before our holiday party). I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this recipe exactly - except I insured the choc. chips were melted - I received great reviews! In fact, I have been asked by several people for the recipe - which in itself is a compliment. I am making again today for favorite friends! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great recipe, easy to work with. I had only 1 box of vanilla wafers, ( 12 oz ) so I crushed 4 oz. of graham crackers which resulted in the same consistency of the vanilla wafers. I grounded too much pecans so I used the remainder of the grounded pecans to roll the balls into. It yielded 120 small rum balls and they looked lovely and tasted delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My oldest had requested Rum Balls for a vacation and I liked this recipe best. I substituted plain butter cookies for the vanilla wafers because he doesn't like vanilla wafers and they tasted great. I had to roll them in confectioner's sugar four times to get them to stop sticking together which made them a little too sweet for some people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
My husband just loved these rum balls. Easy to make. Great for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHYLLIS ADAMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Made these rum balls over the weekend. I thought the chocolate chips would "melt" or at least soften in the mixture, however, even after a few days you need to be careful about bitting into the ball. My husband swore he chipped a tooth. I will likely try the Cocoa recipes next time to avoid the crunch. I also prefer rolling them in chocolate sprinkles so you don't have to roll them twice. Flavor was good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I think it includes far too much corn syrup to make it workable. Unfortunately I didn't know this until I attempted to make a double batch. Out of desperation I tried to save the mess by working in 4 cups of confectioners sugar, but the dough was still far too sticky to manage, even after being chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States