Rum Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are the BEST Rum Balls. I did add more rum so I needed to add more cake and chocolate. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I'm not a fan of rum but these are superb! You will make about three batches of rum balls with the white cake that you have to bake. I also used more white cake crumbs than the recipe calls for (about two cups each batch). I had more luck (less mess) when I let the dough sit in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes before I rolled them into balls. I rolled mine in chocolate jimmies, cocoa, coconut, crushed candy canes. So easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I used day old doughnuts instead of cake and left out the nuts. I relized I forgot to get cream so I used the egg nog in the fridge. Also, I added a little bit of cocoa powered to the mix to even out the color. It's pretty good, everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
We loved these! I've made a few different rum ball recipes but i think this will be the one i stick with from now on. The only thing i changed was to use butter cake instead of white and i added a little cocoa powder. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Didn't buy enough chocolate sprinkles to decorate rum balls; so mixed in additional ground almonds. This made them look even more festive. Everyone loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These are delicious! A little time consuming but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Good recipe worked pretty well, used more chocolate, chocolate cake and put a marshmellow in the centre! Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These are a hit every time I make them although I do typically vary the recipe slightly by taste or by occasion...I've made these with pumpkin, chocolate, carrot, you name it cake and decorated them just as many different ways. Thank you for a great base recipe its def. a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These were good, but I agree with the other reviews that I probably needed 2 bottles of chocolate jimmies and the mix was a little dry, so I added a tablespoon more rum for additional flavor and moisture. Good and not difficult though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
i'm sure it was somehow operator error- but I wound up with very soggy, wet rum balls that didn't even really taste all that good. I even added extra cake crumbs thinking it would dry it up, but no. A total waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States