Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These were easy to make and oh-so yummy. Keep your hands slightly moist when you roll the dough into balls and you won't have any problem with stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I didn't care for the taste or texture of these but some people in my office liked them. I felt they were too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I used coconut flavored rum and they taste like an almond joy candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great recipe, very easy. I used real rum for the water and the "rum extract". They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I usually make a different rum ball recipe for Christmas that calls for walnuts, but I ran out so I looked for one with pecans. As it turns out, I like them better this way! This is now going to be the recipe I make for my cookie trays. I always use Malibu rum for rum balls. It just goes with the chocolate perfectly and it's not overpowering at all. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I used 1/4 cup Malibu (coconut rum) and added enough water to make 1/3 of a cup. I also used 5T of corn syrup. They haven't sat for a week yet, but they are still great! I can't wait to eat the rest a week from now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I've never had rumballs before but knew I loved rum. These were so easy to make - I was surprised. I did use real Bacardi rum to make it and the food processor which made it super easy. I rolled mine in powdered sugar when first making and yes it was a bit sticky but eventually everything dries out. I stored mine in the fridge for 4 -5 days before serving and just rerolled them in powdered sugar before serving. It has been 7 days now and they still taste fresh. **update** I made these for a cookie exchange and needed to double the recipe according to allrecipes button. Since my processor wasn't large enough, I ground the nuts and nilla wafers in 2 batches. Then stuck all that in a large bowl and then put the wet ingredients in and used a hand mixer to blend all together. Perfect for a cookie exchange because they are so easy to make and yield alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These are very good I added a little more extract. It seemed very wet but when iI got it all rolled in powdered sugar the were fine. They remind me of the younger days when mom made them every year. Cant wait for the days to pass. thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Truffles
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I just made these and they are delicious! I used a spiced rum I purchased on my honeymoon in St. Lucia. I can only imagine how wonderful they will taste in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These are very easy to make. The taste was really good & was what I hoping for when I was searching for this recipe. Reminds me of Christmas when I was young. I plan to make these for the Christmas holiday season every year. My only question is how is the best way to store these (refrigerated or not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States