Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I am searching for a good rugelach recipe. This was the second I tried; the first was better. My food processor could not handle this much dough so I changed to my KitchenAid using the dough hook. After more than 2 hours of chilling, the dough was too soft to handle easily. Even after pressing the filling into the dough with a rolling pin, a lot of the filling fell out. The dough is a nice consistency but, if you don't roll it in sugar, it's not sweet enough (I omitted the raisains). If you cut in rolled rectangles instead of crescents, the pieces may fall over during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very good! I used apricot jam spread on the dough and sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar mix before baking. Next time I would increase the amount of sugar and nuts spread on the dough. As good as I remembered from a bakery in N.Y.C. Need to make a second batch they went so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I first made these for a Sunday school celebration. We were discussing Hanukkah. Everyone loved them and I saved the recipe. I have made them for Christmas and other occassions since then. They are always devoured. I use the variation of apricot jam. They are just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are delicious! I didn't have a food processor big enough to make the dough, so I did it my stand mixer and it worked out great. Make sure you keep the point on the underside of the cookie, to prevent it from unrolling during baking. Definitely worth the time it takes to bake these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eag161

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very very good I really enjoyed preparing these cookies, and yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
We loved it! Very flavorful. We used pecans and chocolate instead of walnuts and raisins. We will definitely make this again!! (92)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These were fantastic! I used mini chocolate chips instead of raisins and walnuts. I'm sad that we have to share them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes, totally worth it, i have made it about 6 or 7 times and it is a big crowd pleaser people are always begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
very tasty very addictive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Only problem I had was the dough was so soft and hard to roll. I needed to patch it up a bit, but the end result was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States