Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These were absolutely delicious. I used the apricot jam with raisins and topped with cinnamon sugar. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
great dough. easy to make and I am not a baker. We made them by making a big rectangle and then putting the filling and rolling into a long tube and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Never heard of Rugelach before, but these are delicious. I don't have a food processor but chopped up the ingredients needing chopping with a small slap-chop style chopper and then the dough easily mixed together with a spoon and additionally by hand. I found a 9 in. plate to trace out my circles after rolling the dough out and they all came out perfectly sized and even. I did notice that my second batch, which was chilled longer, was an easier dough to work with and flour helped. A crisp, flaky treat that is very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kketnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent, authentic recipe, just like you get on the East Coast. MAKE IT EASIER! 1) SKIP 2-HOUR CHILLING! Instead, I sandwiched a ball of dough between 2 pieces of saran wrap, rolled to 9" round, peeled off the top layer of plastic, placed fillings, cut with pizza cutter and was ready to go! 2)FRESH ANYTIME: This dough refrigerates VERY well so you might as well make the whole recipe, refrig until needed, and then bake as much as suits your household. OTHER TIPS: 1) Choco filling: 1 cup chocolate chips (chopped) tossed with 1/2 cup white sugar, fill as usual. 2) after making your rolled crescents, chill for 10-20min in the fridge so they maintain the pretty shape while baking. this is optional, but easy if you skipped 2h of chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this recipe for my Jewish boyfriend thinking it would remind him of his mother. After all my hard work he said,"Oh, mom bought her's from the bakery" Mine turned out great. Little tricky rolling out the dough. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Nice addition to our Xmas selections. I made them without jam and with Orange marmalade. Both were equally tasty. I also made them as crescents and rolled up and cut out sprials. Looks great on the plate. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious. I made these exactly as directed (and tried a batch with apricot jam also great and easier to stick the filling to the dough) and they were fantastic. Mine left a fairly large grease slick on the bottom of the cookie sheet, so I had to remove them right away to cool on wire racks. I think I didn't get the butter and cream cheese cut small enough before adding the other ingredients. Didn't effect the flavor or presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are great. I didn't have any raisins but I am not a fan of them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Morin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Everybody loves it. You can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are super good! I just got done baking a double batch and swear I ate the whole first batch. A few tips I'd like to contribute after reading other reviewers problems: 1. Definitely chill this dough and roll on a lightly floured surface. I would imagine a marble cutting block would be ideal. I used a Wilton Roll & Cut mat for fondant; worked perfectly. 2. Roll your circle to about 8". Then put your nut/ raisin / cinnamon / sugar combo on the dough. Cover with a papertowel and finish rolling to 9 inches. This worked perfectly for me. I didn't get very much mixture spilling out after rolling it into the dough. Careful though... you don't want to roll so hard that the mixture pokes through the front of the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States