Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is absolutely yummy! I made it on Christmas Eve and then again on New Year eve. I made 4 different types. 1. Nutella, 2. Cranberry walnut and raspberry jam, 3. walnuts, raisins and raspberry jam and 4. walnuts, chocolate chips and raspberry jam. Was was good but the favourites were the first 2. The second time I made it I found some ways to be more efficient. Follow the instructions exactly, roll out in the circle on wax paper, spread the jam then the cinnamon sugar then the rest of toppings and press lightly. Then lift and place on a plate and refrigerate until the dough firms up a bit. That way its really easy to cut and roll. Then egg wash and sprinkle or roll in cinasugar and refrigerate again. Final tip be sure to remove from baking tray as soon as its finished baking because if not it will fuse to the paper and its difficult to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great recipe! Can anyone help with one small problem I had? These were delicious! The only problem was that before the cookies browned and got flaky, they seemed to melt and flatten on the pan in the oven. My daughter had the same problem, what did we do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This calls for 2 cups flour, with 1 cup of butter, 1 package of cream cheese and 1/3 cup of sour cream, and the dough is supposed to be crumbly? It was very sticky! I ended up adding another cup of flour! Then more to dust the pastry board. I probably almost doubled the flour amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I really loved this dough. Using plenty of flour when rolling out is key. I used a simple cinnamon-sugar filling and drizzled white icing once they were cooled. Like little cinnamon rolls! Delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
DELISH! I've made them with a) sugar/cinnamon/walnuts/mini dark-chocolate chips, b) Solo apricot filling/walnuts (or almonds)/cinnamon, c) Solo raspberry filling/dark chocolate chips. (A) and (B) are *wonderful* --- wasn't crazy about (C). Also, after the 1st time I made this recipe, I stopped cutting the prepared dough into wedges and rolling --- now I just roll the entire thing into a 'log' and slice into pieces about 1 1/2" wide. This works *much* better for me and the filling doesn't fall out! I brush the top of each piece with beaten egg and drop into either a sugar/cinnamon mix or into crushed nuts before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a little time intensive, but turns out AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've been making rugelach for a few years now and each year they get better. This one is a surprisingly forgiving dough - not as temperamental as regular pastry. Lots of reviews suggest using jam as the filling, but every time I have done this the jam burns and ruins the cookies. It doesn't matter how thin I keep the coating - they burn. So the best version by far is the one outlined in this recipe - cinnamon sugar with raisins and / or nuts. I plan on trying poppy seed one day, because that's what I used to buy and love at the Jewish bakery (Solly's) in Vancouver, BC. They keep really well (freeze or store in an airtight container) and since I don't do a lot of holiday baking the extra time it takes to roll them is worth it, because they impress everyone that tries them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe but don't skip the chilling before baking. I forgot with the first tray and they spread too much. I realized my mistake before I put the second one in. Also, much easier to bake them on parchment paper. Easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These are really great...more like a pastry then a cookie. I used mini chocolate chips instead of raises and left out the cinnamon....so yummy and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Hazelnut spread hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States