Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Between my husband, the kids, and myself, these were half-eaten before they had even cooled! They are also good with apricot jam and chopped walnuts as a filling:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have never had Rugelach before...actually I don't even know how to pronounce it but it's fantastic. I did change the recipe a little. I don't have a food processor so I used my kitchenaid mixer and a pastry cutter to make the dough. It took a little while but it worked. One thing I learned is that you really have to flour your surface and the rolling pin before you try to roll out the dough. It was hard for me to roll mine because the wedges stuck to the wax paper. I still have 3 more disks to roll out so I will know how to do it tonight. For my filling I used sugar-free apricot preservatives, sprinkled it with some brown sugar, then put about 1/4 of a cup of white sugar and 1/2 a tbsp of cinnamon. I added raisins to top it off. Baking them for 22 minutes was perfect. When I make the rest of mine tonight I think I will chop up the raisins so they fit better. Besides that I don't think I am going to change a thing. I wasn't sure how the dough would come out...it was light and flaky. My brother-in-law thought it was a french recipe because it was similar to a croissant. He was surprised I had made it from scratch. This recipe is awesome. It's a little time consuming but totally worth it in the end. Thanks for the recipe. **I brought these for dessert at Christmas dinner and my father couldn't believe I had made these, he was really shocked. He loved them. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was a good recipe, but recommend glazing them with an egg wash just before baking to help them crisp up and become a little more golden brown...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I used this recipe to make rugelach for the first time. It was time consuming -- but not difficult. I got great results and everyone raved about how good these were. I filled some with Nutella and others with raspberry preserves, but everyone's favorite by far were the ones with this recipe's filling (substituting mini chocolate chips for the raisins). Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I am totally bummed about this recipe because I had sooo many problems with it. First of all it says to mix the ingredients with a food processor which I assumed that a blender would work, it absolutely will not! It only mixed the bottom half which became very sticky and thick while the top half was still powdery. After mixing it by hand I formed my disks then chilled them overnight. When I tryed to roll them they just cracked leaving gaps all over the place and the more I rolled to try to smooth out the gaps, the less manageable the dough became. I ended up with less than 10 cookie from 2 disks and threw the other two away. Maybe I am just a really inexperienced baker but this recipe was vey difficult for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJN Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I don't like nuts, so I actually did not taste these myself, but they were very easy to make, and everyone who has tried them has raved that they are flaky and delicious, but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made this recipe yesterday for a cookie swap and it was a hit. I used seedless raspberry jam in half and semi sweet chocolate chips in the other batch. Also, I had to bake mine for 30 minutes and they came out flaky and crispy. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
My husband gave this recipe a 10-star rating. These were very much fun to make, een if a bit time-consuming with having to chill the dough twice. They came out perfectly with a very flakey consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Yummy. My first batch didn't cook all that well, so I upped the temp to 375 degrees and cooked in 2nd to top shelf only. Worked well. I baked in a confection gas oven in case it makes a difference. Really yummy though. Look impressive enough to give for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Wow, these are amazing! This is my first experience eating or making rugelach and I am hooked. I don't know if there will be any left to put with the cookies I'm giving away....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianneS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States