Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Funny, the kids loved them much more than the traditional sugar Xmas cookies. They keep asking, even now, fifteen days after Christmas if I can bake some more. The rest of the family and friends, keep asking me for the recipie!!! Gorgous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
these were very good. i used apricot jam on some and thought that it made the cookies. I also thought they were better the second and third day.My boyfriend liked to eat them for breakfast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Excellent recipe and well worth the work. I added a bit of sugar to the dough as some others suggested and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was my first attempt at rugelach. Even though the recipe has a few steps, I found them very easy. The dough was a cinch in the food processor. After making a few batches, I learned to roll the crescents tighter. I used the original recipe and everyone loved them. The second time I used Nutella spread and mini chocolate chips. Those were the biggest hit with the kids. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Amazing texture and flavor. My husband couldn't get enough of these and he doesn't say much about cookies. These he did... "Keep them coming" I made part of the dough with raspberry preserves and drizzled w/melted milk choc when cooled. I made my daughter apricot with a can of Solo apricot fruit. She loved them. We did not like the mini choc chips in this recipe. Thanks for sharing. A new favorite in our home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I used salted butter (it's what I had!) and I omitted both the raisins (we're out) and the white sugar as I spread the dough with apricot preserves and sprinkled liberally with brown sugar. I only did a light sprinkling of cinnamon (both my husband and daughter are mildly allergic), and I did three different types: ground walnuts on one quarter, chopped honey roasted peanuts on another, and ground honey roasted peanuts with white chocolate chips on yet another. The last quarter I made into plain crescent rolls to test it (tasty, but too buttery-flavored!). :) They all turned out amazingly flaky, but I think cutting each quarter of dough into 8 pieces instead of 12 pieces worked out better. Oh, and using the food processor made it a snap. One more thing: they took more like 30 minutes to bake, but they are so fabulous! Try apricot with white chocolate! Thanks for sharing, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
perfect...just like my grandmother's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were soooo good!! I didn't have a food processor so I actually completely mixed the dough into a ball and it turned out fine. I barely used the sugar/cinnamon and used a lot more raisins and nuts than the recipe called for. I also used orange marmalade. If you do wipe the dough with a jam I don't think you need the sugar. Just sprinkle some cinnamon on the jam before you add the raisin/nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was my first time making this and I was pleasantly suprised. I subsituted Splenda for the sugar and I used a mixture of Splenda, cinnamon and ground walnuts for the filling. My stepkids and husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe was great! Most recipes don't use the sour cream, but it really does add a new depth of flavor to the dough. One of my favorite variatins is coconut. Try it with chocolate chips or macadamia nuts. DEEElicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States