Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by hali11
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was skeptical while making these about how they would turn out (due to the trickiness of rolling out the dough and making the individual rugelach), but the final result was extremely well-received: out of 48, I left a party with only 8 left! I replaced the raisins with mini chocolate chips to make it more dessert-like. Excellent recipe, and a new addition to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hali11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made these for a holiday party at work and they were a big hit. The only reason I gave them 4 stars is that they are a bit messy and difficult to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love the dough for this recipe - I have yet to mess it up. I have tried variations with the filling, and like to leave out the sugar, use pecans, and apricot and orange fruit spread (from Trader Joe's), and golden raisins. I also rolled the dough into rectangles, and rolled the dough, then cut into slices, and covered with egg wash and demerera sugar. Yum! As good as these cookies are, they don't last - 3 days at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These cookies are delicious and addictive. Great recipe- it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I really liked this recipe and will make it again. We waited the full 24 hours and also the 20 minutes before baking and it worked well. We did a brown sugar walnut and also an almond paste filling and both are great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These unfortunately didn’t turn out for me. The dough never settled enough to be handled despite refrigerating for over 24 hours. It was so sticky that even rolling it between parchment paper didn’t help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is my second time making these and i love them. I do seem to have a little problem with mixing the dough in the food processor because when i add the sour cream it gets all sticky and goey and not crumbly like the recipe says, not sure why. But, it does come out wonderful and the dough rolls out nice. It is a little time consuming but worth it. I make an apricot/almond filling and the walnut/raisin filling as in the recipe and the rasin filling is my favorite. I do brush them with egg wash. I make 2 batches at a time and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I'm not sure what good rugelach should taste like, but I didn't care too much for them it seems. The batter tasted too "dairy-ish" for me. Although I did make two kinds: One with raspberry jam, and one just like the recipe said. I did like the original recipe best. It wasn't bad, it just wasnt my favorite either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Although the end product of this recipe is delicious, I found the dough extremely hard to work with. It seemed to tear, even though I had chilled it for 24 hours. If I made these again, I would definitely brush the pastry with butter before putting on the cinnamon-nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I must have done something wrong as these were not the greatest. Not bad, but not what I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States