Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by yoli
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very easy and good recipe,just made few changes,I did roll the dough in a sugar instead of flour ,that came amazing I used chocolate for the filling that I mixed and it is non sweet Cocoa with cream, powdered sugar and vanilla and that was a hit . And brush it with egg wash before put it in the oven basically it tasted the same as my mom use to buy it from the market when I was little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
After I made 2 of the disks, I didn't like the way the sprinkled cinnamon and sugar looked on the finished product, so I finished the last 2 disks in a way that I read in a different recipe. Combine 1/2 C sugar and 2 T cinnamon and spread over rolling area. I used a pastry cloth and spread it on that. Then roll the disk out on the cinnamon/sugar mixture and finish as the recipe says. It looks very nice when baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These definitely have 5-star taste, but they are a pain to make. I used dried cranberries and pecans, no jam. I might try some chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I have tried many Rugelach recipes, this was the easiest and came out the best. One note, the rugelach is always rolled out in a sugar cinnamon mix never flour if rolled and turned once it is covered in sugar, it is no problem to roll out at all. Mine was never sticky I chilled for 24 hours. NEVER use table james or jellies for fillings, use Solo fillings which are specifically made to handle the hot temps of the ovens and they dont liquify as much. I used apricot and choc chips, I put nothing on top of them and they came out WONDERFUL. Company said they were stupendous, and when my company left and I finally went to have some for myself they were already gone. They lasted sbout 2 hours. Too much work to give out on platters but a nice treat for company or for family. Will truly make this again. Bakeries charges up to 7 or 8.00 a pound for these gourmet treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Photo by cook399
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Very flaky dough which almost reminded of baklava with its texture.It's also very similar to puff pastry ,but tastes much better.I used the original filling for half of the dough,which turned out very good.For the other half ,I made a batch with Nutella and shredded coconut and the rest with raspbarry jam, walnuts,and coconut.The great thing about this recipe is that you can use pretty much anything you want as a filling, as long as it doesn't spill over.Overall,this recipe is definitely worth the work involved ,even though it wasn't as hard as it sounds.Just a bit of organization and the results are perfect! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook399

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These were great! The raisins get a little gloppy when you try to blend them. I also tried different jams. these were delicious and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Didn't stay very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONS77
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The best rugelach recipe I've found to date. Easy and fun to make. I spread a thin layer of apricot jam on the dough, and added the sugar, cinnamon, nuts, and of course, mini chocolate chips! I did have to bake them a few minutes longer to be golden, but that's probably my oven. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I must have done something wrong. I followed the recipe to a tee and these were dry, bland and just plain not good. I dont know what went wrong. I wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 pouch of vanilla sugar to dough. I made the dough by hand and added about 3 tbsps more flour as it was really sticky. Apricot filling, used 1/2 lb dried apricot chopped finely and 12 ounces apricot preserves, cooked over med-high heat stirring constantly for about 5 to evaporate extra fluid, allow to cool thoroughly makes a nice thick spread that barely leaked from the rugelah. Nice texture to pastry, next time will divide into 8 balls and cut into 8 pieces to make 64 cookies, a better size for Christmas gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States