Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I think this is a great recipe and not particularly difficult to make. A little time consuming and some mess to clean up but well worth it. Wonderful easy pastry. And it does freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I can't say enough about this recipe. It is my new standard holiday gift. My son and I found that we could easily get 64 cookies out of this recipe and still have decent sized cookies. We made three varieties: raspberry all fruit jam and chocolate chips, Apricot all fruit jam and almond paste, and Trader Joe's Apricot Orange preserves with chocolate chips. I like them all equally, however my co-workers enjoyed the raspberry chocolate best. Since making our first batch around Thanksgiving, we've made no less than 300 cookies! I found that the easiest and fastest way to make them is to roll the dough out into a rectangle shape and brush with your jam or sprinkle with your sugar mixture, add a line of the chunkier ingredients (chips, nuts, chopped fruit) as you roll. That is, roll the rectangle as you would a jelly roll and after each turn flatten it a bit while laying down a line of the chunky ingredients along the edge of the roll. When finished, cut with a pizza cutter for the perfect shape and size. This shaved at least 15 minutes off the prep. I made the first batch according to the recipe and then replaced all of the cream cheese with Neufchatel and the sour cream with 0% fat Greek yogurt. This did not change the texture or taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fig1007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I faintly remembered how good rugelach cookies were, but actually didn't know the name of the cookie type until I did some research and stumbled upon this recipe. As soon as I saw the picture I knew it was the cookie I was looking for. I've made these multiple times, and they always come out amazing! I use tiny choc chips I found and bought especially for this cookie. They are hands down my favorite. I can eat the whole batch, which says a lot since I rarely eat the stuff I bake, I just like to bake it! Definitely time consuming, and that does affect how often I make them, but when I do I enjoy every single bite. They keep very well too. Thank you so much for posting this! Usually it takes me a while to find a recipe I like, I always try different ones and tweak things a bit, but I settled with this exact recipe right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Great recipe, these were a big hit with the family at Christmas, already got special requests for more. I was a bit worried they weren't going to come out since the directions said to use a food processor until crumbly, I only have a hand blender and it was very doughy and not crumbly at all. I rolled out the discs and spread with apricot jam and sprinkled with brown sugar before covering with the filling. Then i cut the discs in half and then cut rectangular strips and rolled them. I had a difficult time with keeping the filling inside (think i had too much filling in the first couple batches). about half of them came unrolled in the oven, those i kept for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The good news: These were fantastic. I didnt do the fruit filling instead I spread it with nutella and sprinkled with walnuts. The bad news: This dough is REALLY difficult to work with. I had it in the fridge overnight, and honestly, its alot of work, I dont know if I would make it again based on the big effort alone BUT they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
first time they did not come out great...second time I was pressed for time so I put the cubed butter & cream cheese in the freezer it worked so well and I was able roll in out right away. I also rolled it out like a log (thick)added the filling and cut into 1.5 inch pcs. you yield less but its worth it! so much easier and still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I'd never heard of Rugelach in my life and I stumbled onto this recipe when looking for something to make to get rid of some leftover sour cream. I'm so glad I found this recipe and it introduced me to such a yummy and addictive cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoli
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very easy and good recipe,just made few changes,I did roll the dough in a sugar instead of flour ,that came amazing I used chocolate for the filling that I mixed and it is non sweet Cocoa with cream, powdered sugar and vanilla and that was a hit . And brush it with egg wash before put it in the oven basically it tasted the same as my mom use to buy it from the market when I was little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
After I made 2 of the disks, I didn't like the way the sprinkled cinnamon and sugar looked on the finished product, so I finished the last 2 disks in a way that I read in a different recipe. Combine 1/2 C sugar and 2 T cinnamon and spread over rolling area. I used a pastry cloth and spread it on that. Then roll the disk out on the cinnamon/sugar mixture and finish as the recipe says. It looks very nice when baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These definitely have 5-star taste but I have to deduct a star just because they are a pain to make. I used dried cranberries and pecans, no jam. I might try some chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States