Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes, totally worth it, i have made it about 6 or 7 times and it is a big crowd pleaser people are always begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
very tasty very addictive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Only problem I had was the dough was so soft and hard to roll. I needed to patch it up a bit, but the end result was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Yum! I never realized rugelach was so difficult to make. I moved from Los Angeles to England and I miss being able to pick it up at the market and local deli/bakery. Thank you for the great recipe. I found working with rectangles worked better for me than circles. I rolled the dough on parchment on a glass countertop protecter and put it in the fridge to chill for about 20 min. Then I cut the rectangle in half lengthwise and cut each half into 6 rectangular slices. If it is not perfect, after it has chilled again you can use a knife to spread it better and cover up tears. After spreading on the filling I used a knife to help me roll each piece. The knife made it easier to get the dough off the parchment. I also cooked the rugelach on parchment paper. I made 3 variations: raspberry walnut with nuts on top, apricot and nutella with choc. chips. I blended some choc. chips in my small blender and put the choc. powder on top of some of the rugelach. The hardest thing is resisting eating all the rugelach up in one go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
well i decided to give these a try. I've never had or even seen a rugelach in my life and i wanted to start trying some tradional dishes. I don't have a food processor, so i used a fork and knife. It really took less time then what i thought to make coarse crumbs. I also used what i had in the house 1/3 less fat cream cheese and light sour cream. They didn't puff out like many people stated then stayed the same size i rolled them. Also working the dough less and not worring about getting it super thin worked better for me. I used a sugar reduced jelly. They turned out really good. My bf really loved them. He asked me when i'll be making these again. I'm sure he'd give them five stars plus the fact they're prettty diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Perfect! Beware, they're so good you can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakethebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Loved them. However, cookies normally disappear quickly in my household, and these were still around after a few days. They freeze well (after being cooked) and taste yummy frozen or thawed. Good to have on hand for company/a needed dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
First time I've ever tried anything like this. It seemed like quite a bit of work for this cookie. Maybe I just didn't grow up with it? I don't think I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were awesome! The dough is a little tough at first, but if you use it straight out of the fridge and have everything ready to go so you're not handling it too much, it'll come out perfectly! Plus, it may take a little clean up at the end if you're using a cuisinart, but the ingredients are sooo easy to put together and before you know it, it's ready to go! I cut rectangular strips instead of triangles, so they could be more squared off. And instead of using this exact filling, I played with fillings like apricot preserve with toasted sliced almonds, 4-berry jam with chocolate chips, blackberry preserve and pecans, and cinnamon with chocolate chips and walnuts. The family has requested these as part of my christmas bake-off arsenal :) Thanks Jackie! Perfect recipe! PS......I had a few packages of dough left, and because the dough is not sweet, I rolled them out and put par-cooked (with cumin, coriander and smoked paprika) spinach, mushrooms over a layer of soft goat cheese. I cut the dough into large squares and folded the ends upwards and crimped them together to make little packages. It came out so good! Think of the flavor possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good recipe. I found that the rugelach came out a little on the big side, so I cut each circle into 16 pieces to make them a little smaller. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States