Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These were amazing! My dough came out really sticky so I ending adding more flour. I didn't use raisins, but I did add apricot jam before adding on the cinnamon/sugar/nut mixture. SO so so good! Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
4.5 stars from me. They were very good. I don't think I followed the directions exactly, b/c I was going back and forth btn this one and the Contessa's recipe from FN. Anyways, I had the cream cheese and butter almost at room temp when I started, so it was basically smooth when combined. This did not affect anything. For my filling, I did toasted crushed almonds, finely chopped dates, and a layer of sugar free apricot preserve (applied with brush before filling). The two chilling steps were crucial. Rolling was not that difficult afterwards. I did not have liquid jam everywhere as one reviewer did after baking. Ina rec'd 2T of preserves. I think I did 3T-4T with it not running. I did do an egg wash to improve the appearance (1 egg beaten with 1T milk). I don't like overly sweet desserts, but I think it would've been fine to roll the pastry in cinnamon sugar before baking. Baking time: 22min for my oven was too short. So I just left the rugelach in there for another 10-15min til it reached a deeper light brown. I think next time I will add vanilla to the batter to give it more flavor. Like I said, I don't have a sweet tooth, but I know that these can stand to be sweeter. Regardless, I like these a LOT, and really, really enjoyed making them. This was a great new learning experience! And did I mention these are oh so ADORABLE?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
not bad, but to improve the batch ,each round should be rolled out, butter added and envelope fold twice, this brings it more to a pastry and less of a solid lump
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Made these yesterday, my first time making regelach. Everyone loved them and said they were possibly the best they've had. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOancox
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I brushed rounds with a thin layer of instant coffee, vanilla and hot water, then a layer of chopped chocolate chips. before cutting and rolling.... mmmmm also brushed tops with an egg and vanilla sugar mix.....double mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOancox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These were absolutely delicious. I used the apricot jam with raisins and topped with cinnamon sugar. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
great dough. easy to make and I am not a baker. We made them by making a big rectangle and then putting the filling and rolling into a long tube and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Never heard of Rugelach before, but these are delicious. I don't have a food processor but chopped up the ingredients needing chopping with a small slap-chop style chopper and then the dough easily mixed together with a spoon and additionally by hand. I found a 9 in. plate to trace out my circles after rolling the dough out and they all came out perfectly sized and even. I did notice that my second batch, which was chilled longer, was an easier dough to work with and flour helped. A crisp, flaky treat that is very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kketnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent, authentic recipe, just like you get on the East Coast. MAKE IT EASIER! 1) SKIP 2-HOUR CHILLING! Instead, I sandwiched a ball of dough between 2 pieces of saran wrap, rolled to 9" round, peeled off the top layer of plastic, placed fillings, cut with pizza cutter and was ready to go! 2)FRESH ANYTIME: This dough refrigerates VERY well so you might as well make the whole recipe, refrig until needed, and then bake as much as suits your household. OTHER TIPS: 1) Choco filling: 1 cup chocolate chips (chopped) tossed with 1/2 cup white sugar, fill as usual. 2) after making your rolled crescents, chill for 10-20min in the fridge so they maintain the pretty shape while baking. this is optional, but easy if you skipped 2h of chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this recipe for my Jewish boyfriend thinking it would remind him of his mother. After all my hard work he said,"Oh, mom bought her's from the bakery" Mine turned out great. Little tricky rolling out the dough. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States