Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the raisins. Instead of raisins I spread the dough with apricot preserves before adding the sugar/cinnamon/nut mixture, which was very tasty! The dough is phenomenal though! Flaky and buttery and just as it should be. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I literally just made these with my daughter both decent cooks. I followed many peoples advice because I have never made these. I have this advice this is one of the best cookies ever! But...do yourself a favor flour lightly two sheets of parchment and roll out very chilled dough in rectangle put filling on top pressing into dough and roll up cookie roll fashion chill again and slice and bake. They will come out perfect. The taste is unbelievable whole family raving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I don't generally write reviews but I just pulled these out of the oven and they are amazing. My exact words were "Holy Macaroni!". I would say I am an intermediate baker. I can cook without recipes but I am just starting to get a feel for proportions and the effects of different ingredients in recipes. I saw these and thought it looked a bit like a pie dough in that you need to keep everything chilled and not overly mixed so I expected flaky-ness. The term "laminated dough" popped into my head also. Well these came out like little croissants for me. Exceeded my expectations. I haven't read the other reviews but I definitely agree with all the stars for this recipe. I am making them for Christmas and they are a nice addition to the mix of cookies. I used european butter, mixed with my hand squishing all the ingredients into odd shaped, flakes and chunks. Filled with 1) cherry pie filling (pureed in blender)/pecan 2) Nutella 3) chopped raisin/brown sugar/walnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome recipe; my only change (third time around) was to use chopped chocolate chips in place of raisins, and to roll them out as rectangles rather than rounds. The roulade shape allows all the filling to stay contained in the rugelach -- it tends to fall out when prepared as the recipe suggests. I shape the dough into rectangles before chilling, then roll out to about 4 x 12 inches, top with filling, roll into a log and cut into 12 small cookies. These took about 24 minutes to cook entirely. The dough is easy to work with and cooks to a lovely flaky finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was the best recipe ever! Very happy with the results. I also made a few different fillings like some others. Next time I will roll the dough into a log like someone else suggested. It will definitely save time, and I think there will be less loss if filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My dough came out sticky not crumbly in the food processor. Double checked-ingredients correct. I want to make a few more batches. What did I do incorrectly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are so delicious. I didn't have raisons so I decided to use Apricot jam in the nut mixture. They turned out great. I'm not sure if this was a major faux pas but it worked for me and I am making more tomorrow for our BIG family party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These were amazing! My dough came out really sticky so I ending adding more flour. I didn't use raisins, but I did add apricot jam before adding on the cinnamon/sugar/nut mixture. SO so so good! Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
4.5 stars from me. They were very good. I don't think I followed the directions exactly, b/c I was going back and forth btn this one and the Contessa's recipe from FN. Anyways, I had the cream cheese and butter almost at room temp when I started, so it was basically smooth when combined. This did not affect anything. For my filling, I did toasted crushed almonds, finely chopped dates, and a layer of sugar free apricot preserve (applied with brush before filling). The two chilling steps were crucial. Rolling was not that difficult afterwards. I did not have liquid jam everywhere as one reviewer did after baking. Ina rec'd 2T of preserves. I think I did 3T-4T with it not running. I did do an egg wash to improve the appearance (1 egg beaten with 1T milk). I don't like overly sweet desserts, but I think it would've been fine to roll the pastry in cinnamon sugar before baking. Baking time: 22min for my oven was too short. So I just left the rugelach in there for another 10-15min til it reached a deeper light brown. I think next time I will add vanilla to the batter to give it more flavor. Like I said, I don't have a sweet tooth, but I know that these can stand to be sweeter. Regardless, I like these a LOT, and really, really enjoyed making them. This was a great new learning experience! And did I mention these are oh so ADORABLE?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States