Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great recipe! Can anyone help with one small problem I had? These were delicious! The only problem was that before the cookies browned and got flaky, they seemed to melt and flatten on the pan in the oven. My daughter had the same problem, what did we do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This calls for 2 cups flour, with 1 cup of butter, 1 package of cream cheese and 1/3 cup of sour cream, and the dough is supposed to be crumbly? It was very sticky! I ended up adding another cup of flour! Then more to dust the pastry board. I probably almost doubled the flour amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I really loved this dough. Using plenty of flour when rolling out is key. I used a simple cinnamon-sugar filling and drizzled white icing once they were cooled. Like little cinnamon rolls! Delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
DELISH! I've made them with a) sugar/cinnamon/walnuts/mini dark-chocolate chips, b) Solo apricot filling/walnuts (or almonds)/cinnamon, c) Solo raspberry filling/dark chocolate chips. (A) and (B) are *wonderful* --- wasn't crazy about (C). Also, after the 1st time I made this recipe, I stopped cutting the prepared dough into wedges and rolling --- now I just roll the entire thing into a 'log' and slice into pieces about 1 1/2" wide. This works *much* better for me and the filling doesn't fall out! I brush the top of each piece with beaten egg and drop into either a sugar/cinnamon mix or into crushed nuts before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a little time intensive, but turns out AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've been making rugelach for a few years now and each year they get better. This one is a surprisingly forgiving dough - not as temperamental as regular pastry. Lots of reviews suggest using jam as the filling, but every time I have done this the jam burns and ruins the cookies. It doesn't matter how thin I keep the coating - they burn. So the best version by far is the one outlined in this recipe - cinnamon sugar with raisins and / or nuts. I plan on trying poppy seed one day, because that's what I used to buy and love at the Jewish bakery (Solly's) in Vancouver, BC. They keep really well (freeze or store in an airtight container) and since I don't do a lot of holiday baking the extra time it takes to roll them is worth it, because they impress everyone that tries them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe but don't skip the chilling before baking. I forgot with the first tray and they spread too much. I realized my mistake before I put the second one in. Also, much easier to bake them on parchment paper. Easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These are really great...more like a pastry then a cookie. I used mini chocolate chips instead of raises and left out the cinnamon....so yummy and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Hazelnut spread hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the raisins. Instead of raisins I spread the dough with apricot preserves before adding the sugar/cinnamon/nut mixture, which was very tasty! The dough is phenomenal though! Flaky and buttery and just as it should be. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States