Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was the perfect recipe! I am going to make it again. You need to make this for people that KNOW rugelach and how it differs in texture from cinnamon roles....Otherwise they might eating expecting a different consistency....hard to explain - but it has a crumbly - break apart in your mouth feel...and is not a chewy as a cinnamon roll. I loved it - but I also grew up eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Absolutely the best rugelach recipe that I have tried and I have tried a lot of them. Very easy to do in the food processor. I followed the recipe exactly. I chopped the walnuts and rasins in the processor also. The filling stayed put when rolling the cookie by simply pressing it onto the dough as the recipe stated. Most rugelach I have made leak all over the pan giving the cookie a burnt look on the bottom, but these did not do that. The flavor is wonderful! Definitely try this recipe! It is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very Superior!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terka
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
these were fantastic!. i only wish i had had enough walnuts to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These are fantastic! My family especially likes them with mini chocolate chips, cinnamon, sugar and chopped walnuts. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I had cream cheese and sour cream, but no eggs so I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Delicious! I chopped up a huge Hershey's Kiss for half the batch and used raisins in the other. I even made a few with only cinnamon/sugar and those turned out to be my favorite! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Thank you, Jackie! Great recipe!! I made each of the four quarters of the dough differently, just to experiment. One with cinnamon, white sugar and walnuts, one with rasberry preserves, one with chocolate ganache and walnuts and one with walnuts heated in a simple syrup (and then cooled). Brushed all of them with beaten egg white and sprinkled a little white sugar on top. I found that 20 minutes produced a rugelach that was lightly browned and was very flaky and tender when cooled. By baking them just two minutes more, they were a little crisper. Both ways are wonderful, and I'm sure I'll come up with other filling variations. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Frederick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Man, these are awesome. I made the basic version with the addition of 1/4 c. white sugar to the dough and they came out beautifully. Also made some with dried cranberries mixed into te basic filling and they, too, were great. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I wish I could give these 10+ stars...they were incredible! While yes they are a little time consuming due to having to chill the dough, all in all they are really very easy to make and definitely worth the wait! They were so flaky they just melt in your mouth! I liked these better than the ones I pay a fortune for at my local bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
It worked! Made this recipe for my Jewish mother in law and the family was very impressed! I spread Nutella on the rounds and sprinkled the ground nuts and cin. and nixed the sugar. I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States