Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
These were a huge hit at the office. For anyone who is having issues with filling falling out, I would suggest pushing the chunky parts of the filling to the outside of the circle (leaving the cinnamon/sugar mixure in the middle) before rolling. This way you can squeeze the raisins/nuts in as you roll. Also if you don't want to make the crescent shape, you can use this recipe to make roulades (exactly the same cookie, just a cinnamon roll-like shape). To do this, roll the dough out either into a rectangle or circle. Then add the toppings. Roll the dough with the filling. Then cut into 1 inch pieces. (Note: If you rolled into a circle, you'll need to cut a 1/4 inch piece off of each end before cutting the 1 inch cookie pieces.) Place seam side down for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is great! I had never made rugelach before. Just a little labor intensive but worth it! I put the sugar, cinnamon, walnuts and raisins in my food processor and processed them all together until fine. Save a lot of time chopping. The chilling of the dough and the filled rugelach is very important. I also mixed cinnamon and sugar and dipped the cookies before they were baked. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was an absolute delight to family and friends. I even enjoyed it and I tend to be alittle critical. Warmest regards! FW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Good recipe. I've never had rugelach before and these were pretty good. Didn't keep super well after the first day, so I'm only giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, but I thought it could have been sweeter. Next time I will make sure to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Yum! This recipe has about 1/2 the sugar per serving of the others we looked at and we didn't miss it! Mine stuck a bit to the cookie sheet so I wished I had used a Silpat or parchment paper. The dough is just elegant - almost like a puff pasty. I used unsalted butter and I think I would like to add just a wee pinch more salt to the dough. I know we will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Fantastic!!! But be sure to keep the dough cold and I found it easier to roll it between two sheets of wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: La Prairie, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This Rugelach is OUT OF THIS WORLD! A very flaky dough and very versatile. You can about use any filling you can think of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe is truely amazing. Totally delish. I rolled mine in powdered sugar as it did not say what to roll then in and they were just the best. I made a few different fillings but the original is the best. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These were so, so good! A little time-consuming to make but worth every minute! We don't like raisins so eliminated those and was very liberal with the cinnamon sugar--in fact--probably doubled the amount added to each--inside & on top. Used pecans and experimented with orange marmalade & strawberry preserves(liberally)as well--both outstanding! Was making these while people were around and could hardly keep any to store for Christmas gifts! I had to keep making more! I found serving them warm is the best. Never got around to it but I want to try these with sausage or bacon & different cheeses. Who knows...they may be a hit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States