Rueben Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We really enjoyed this at our home. Please don't judge, but I didn't have time to make dough. I had a Pillsbury french loaf that filled in nicely. Instead of mustard I made 1000 island dressing, (mayo, ketchup, and pickle relish). The possibilities are endless, ham and cheese, Philly cheese-steak, Italian meats w/marinara, turkey w/ bacon and Caesar dressing. . . The sky is the limit! Thank you, NEHCTERG, for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
What a delicious recipe! I used 1 Cup of rye flour and caraway seeds in the bread ingredients. I LOVE ruben sandwiches and this was no exception! It is a half-day project though and contains expensive ingredients. Sometimes you just gotta splurge, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
i love to make bread! this stuff is a big hit at my house. we like corn beef brisket. when i make it the left overs are for this bread. the only thing i changed is, i mix a little thousand island dressing in with the sauerkrat and layer cornbeef, then sauerkrat and then cheese. if cheese on bottom it makes to soggy. great find! thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULI42298
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I had been making this for years from an old recipe book i had. When I moved and couldn't find the book i searched high and low on st. patty's day for this! i was soooo happy to find it here! my family and i LOVE this and make it every march 17th; its so much better than the traditional bland corned beef and cabbage. i have graduated to making 2 or 3 at a time because we can never get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was so yummy. I did not make the bread from scratch. I used the Pilsbury French loaf. Yum and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
We made this according to the directions the first time. We liked the idea of the crust but it was a bit thicker and harder than we liked. In the interests of time, the next time, I thawed a loaf of bread dough during the day in the refrigerator. I let it rise a bit then rolled spread it out and added the corned beef, Swiss cheese and sauerkraut. I did the same type of braid, spread with beaten egg and then baked it at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. We used this recipe for a dip/sauce. 1/3 cup mayonnaise 1 1/2 Tbsp ketchup 1 1/2 teaspoons prepared horseradish 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce Salt, to taste Freshly ground black pepper, to taste Great concept NEHCTERG but we like these slight changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaPintler
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Fantastic use of leftover corned beef. I did substitute 1c rye flour, but it was completely unnecessary. The yellow mustard adds a great flavor and brightness to the bread. I mixed some Thousand Island with hot cream horseradish and we dipped the sandwiches in that. So very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This bread came out FANTASTIC...Def. worth the time put into making it! You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Oh... my... goodness!!! I made this a bit ago and it was fantastic! Didn't change a single thing about it and it turned out wonderfully. My fiance ate nearly the whole thing in one sitting. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Everybody loved this recipe. I didn't use the corned beef. Instead I used left over roast beef, mashed potatoes, corn and peas. Made a gravy to dip it into. It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States