Rudy's Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe is absolutely amazing! I made this recipe last year and froze it in jars, unfortunately it ran out way too early. I made some for gifts and people were just raving about it. I used walnuts and pine nuts because pine nuts on their own were too expensive and omitted the Asiago. I highly recommend you try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. I substituted roasted squash seeds and added a few basil leaves. Make sure you remove the flower head before using (the bump part way up the stalk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
My husband and I liked this a lot. My 3 year old, not so much. I used pecans, because I had them on hand. I used extra cheese as another reviewer suggested. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a very good recipe and freezes well. I used to use pine nuts but because they have become so expensive, I substitute them with sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a great way to use garlic scapes. the pesto was delicious on bread, pizza, veggies, and pasta. We also froze some for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Peppery, garlicky, cheesy and fresh. Wow. I followed the ingredient list moreso than the actual recipe - I'm a big fan of cooking to taste. I didn't have any asiago and I went the extra step of toasting my pine nuts. Thanks so much for the recipe - I would've never thought of pesto. But its got me thinking about it as a pizza sauce, a sandwich spread, bruschetta topping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I make this ahead of time and put some in the freezer. I cook pasta, add pesto and cooked cubed chicken. Very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great recipe but I agree that 3/4 cup of oil is way too much! I used 1/2 cup and will probably start with 1/3 cup next time. Also, used all Parmesan cheese and added some fresh spicy basil. Easy and delicious. Too bad it's not low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My family loved this. I used pastacio nuts instead of pine nuts. Didn't have Asiago cheese, so I used cheddar and Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I also got my garlic scapes from my CSA and didn't know what to do with them. The recipe was a little spicy for me, so I just increased both cheeses by less than a quarter cup, perhaps an 1/8th cup. It was perfect for us. This can also be used for topping steak/chicken or kahlrabi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States