Rudy's Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This stuff is amazing. I recently discovered Garlic Scapes and now prefer this type of pesto to a traditional basil pesto. Because the flavor is so strong, I use less Garlic Scape pesto and a batch of this will last much longer than regular pesto. Since I can only get garlic scapes from the farm in early summer (locally) - I make up a lot and freeze it to use for recipes during the winter. Once you make this - you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Fabulous! I did half the olive oil. I got more garlic scapes through my CSA, so I plan to make more to freeze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
So delicious! The recipe was great as written, but I didn't need to add any salt thanks to the parmesan cheese. This was the perfect way to use up all the garlic scapes the CSA gave me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Just made this Pesto as written with the scapes from my CSA this week - FANTASTIC!! I made a double batch and froze some for later. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I also got my garlic scapes from my CSA and didn't know what to do with them. The recipe was a little spicy for me, so I just increased both cheeses by less than a quarter cup, perhaps an 1/8th cup. It was perfect for us. This can also be used for topping steak/chicken or kahlrabi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I make this ahead of time and put some in the freezer. I cook pasta, add pesto and cooked cubed chicken. Very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Peppery, garlicky, cheesy and fresh. Wow. I followed the ingredient list moreso than the actual recipe - I'm a big fan of cooking to taste. I didn't have any asiago and I went the extra step of toasting my pine nuts. Thanks so much for the recipe - I would've never thought of pesto. But its got me thinking about it as a pizza sauce, a sandwich spread, bruschetta topping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a very good recipe and freezes well. I used to use pine nuts but because they have become so expensive, I substitute them with sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. I substituted roasted squash seeds and added a few basil leaves. Make sure you remove the flower head before using (the bump part way up the stalk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe is absolutely amazing! I made this recipe last year and froze it in jars, unfortunately it ran out way too early. I made some for gifts and people were just raving about it. I used walnuts and pine nuts because pine nuts on their own were too expensive and omitted the Asiago. I highly recommend you try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States