Ruby Red Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
A family favorite at Christmas dinner. I substitute 16 oz. can of pitted bing cherries (drained) instead of cranberry sauce. Sometimes I layer salad in individual sherbert glasses--recipe divides easily between 10 glasses. Great presentation plus the addition of a sprig of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Delicious. Made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANSNSTEVE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Tart, sweet, fruity, refreshing, beautiful, generous amount--what else could I want from a congealed salad? It did take a while for the top layer to "partially set," but it was worth it. Our seventeen-year-old is not fond of cranberries, but my husband and I love this stuff. Will make this salad for future holidays and for other times--great for feeding a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Very tasty. Love the tartness of the raspberry jello and the frozen raspberries. Added whip cream instead of sour cream and it was delish! Second time made it with the sour cream - it was so much better! Don't skip the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Don't skimp on the sour cream. I had reservations about how it would taste with fruit, so I didn't use it all. Now, I wish I had because it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
i, out of habit, bought sugar-free jello for this - had i used regular, i think it would've been delicious - the top layer was super good, but the bottom tasted really artificial. it took my top layer about twice as long as called for to get a little firm. i made the dish in a glass bowl, like the recipe said, but i think next time i'll put it in something more square so you can get both layers at the same time, but still glass because it was very pretty. i will definitely make again with regular jello and a different dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I really can't rate this accurately because I changed things. I do not care for sour cream, so I changed that to 8oz FF cool whip mixed with 1 cup sugar/splenda and 8oz FF cream cheese. I then added another layer of this on top of the cherry jello mixture, and sprinkled crushed pretzels on top. I crushed about a cup and a half, mixed with 2 T melted butter, and 1/4 cup sugar/splenda. Of course, I used sugar-free jello, and doubled the pineapple. It is wonderful. I am curious if pudding would be a good substitute for the sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is our family's favorite holiday salad. It turns out perfect every time! Even folks who say they don't like cranberries will love this dish. I make it low cal by using sugar free J-ello mixes and low fat sour cream. This is a great one to make in advance and serve when you need it. Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Has become a staple for holiday dinners in our home. Simple and tasty -- and it looks pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States