Ruby French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I used Splenda instead of sugar and cut back a little on the olive oil. I wanted a smooth dressing (no onion bits), so I put all ingredients except the oil into the blender, pulsed, and then streamed in the oil at the end with the blender running. The end result was a dressing with perfect consistency. You do need to let the flavors meld on this, so be sure to allow for some time in the fridge. When I tasted this out of the blender, the olive oil was dominating, but after a couple hours in the fridge, it all came together. This is a "tangy" french dressing with a lot of flavor and takes just minutes to make. Thumbs up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
TO MAKE IT HEALTHIER, I USED APPLE CIDER VINEGAR AND FRUCTOSE IN PLACE OF DISTILLED VINEGAR. ALSO USED CAYENNE PEPPER IN PLACE OF BLACK PEPPER. OTHERWISE, IT WAS FABULOUS. AUTUMN SINCLAIRE....(AUTHOR OF MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE COOKBOOK)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is the French dressing I have been looking for! I can't tell you how many different recipes I've tried lately. Some were WAY too tart, while others were WAY too sweet. This dressing is a little on the sweeter side, which is what I like, but not too sweet. While this dressing is delicious as is, I chose to add a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce... perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is some great dressing and is the basic recipe I'll use from now on to make French dressing. Being a big fan of vinegar (I like to sip different types of vinegars from a shot glass while working on line) I cut back a bit on the oil, I use canola because I don't like the taste of olive oil. I increased the vinegar to substitute the amount of oil I cut back on. Also I halved the recipe because I like to make all my dressings and like them to be as fresh as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Easy to make and very yummy! I made 1/2 batch for my friend (I didn't want to waste a bottle of the store-bought stuff) but I also enjoyed it. Why buy bottled when you can make your own and do it better1 Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLM216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I loved it. I never knew that scratch dressing is the best. I however, reduced the olive oil and substituted Dijon mustard for dry mustard as this what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Excellent! Changes: Apple cider vinegar and onion powder as I was too lazy to finely dice the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious, right out of the blender. I used Splenda instead of sugar, however I cut the amount listed in the recipe in half. The color is more pale than Ruby Red, as shown in the photo. Used regular mustard and a dash of worchestershire sauce to give it some zing. Better than any homemade French dressing recipe I've tried. My local cafe makes their own, however, this is superior to theirs. Love the consistency of the dressing,which adheres to the lettuce beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
quick and easy!! It is THEEEEEE BEST French dressing I have ever tasted!!! I cut the recipe in half ( there are just the two of us these days ) and I used my ninja blender to mix it all up. So Wynden keep your recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States