Ruby French Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is some great dressing and is the basic recipe I'll use from now on to make French dressing. Being a big fan of vinegar (I like to sip different types of vinegars from a shot glass while working on line) I cut back a bit on the oil, I use canola because I don't like the taste of olive oil. I increased the vinegar to substitute the amount of oil I cut back on. Also I halved the recipe because I like to make all my dressings and like them to be as fresh as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Easy to make and very yummy! I made 1/2 batch for my friend (I didn't want to waste a bottle of the store-bought stuff) but I also enjoyed it. Why buy bottled when you can make your own and do it better1 Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLM216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I used Splenda instead of sugar and cut back a little on the olive oil. I wanted a smooth dressing (no onion bits), so I put all ingredients except the oil into the blender, pulsed, and then streamed in the oil at the end with the blender running. The end result was a dressing with perfect consistency. You do need to let the flavors meld on this, so be sure to allow for some time in the fridge. When I tasted this out of the blender, the olive oil was dominating, but after a couple hours in the fridge, it all came together. This is a "tangy" french dressing with a lot of flavor and takes just minutes to make. Thumbs up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
My mom used to make a recipe like this. I'm glad to have it. I used 1 1/2 tsp of grated onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is the French dressing I have been looking for! I can't tell you how many different recipes I've tried lately. Some were WAY too tart, while others were WAY too sweet. This dressing is a little on the sweeter side, which is what I like, but not too sweet. While this dressing is delicious as is, I chose to add a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce... perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was very easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
TO MAKE IT HEALTHIER, I USED APPLE CIDER VINEGAR AND FRUCTOSE IN PLACE OF DISTILLED VINEGAR. ALSO USED CAYENNE PEPPER IN PLACE OF BLACK PEPPER. OTHERWISE, IT WAS FABULOUS. AUTUMN SINCLAIRE....(AUTHOR OF MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE COOKBOOK)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I substituted Splenda for the sugar but otherwise followed the directions. I've made it twice and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Fast, easy, delicious, and contains ingredients I had in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States