Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Other than sauteing an onion and a good amount of garlic in butter with the meat and adding a little liquid smoke, this is hands down the best sloppy joe filling I've ever had. I topped this with shredded sharp cheddar and toasted the buns a bit to make them hold up a little better. This is my new sloppy joe recipe. Even my husband who loves that nasty canned junk loved this. AWESOME. NOTE: If you don't like all that ketchup, think about cutting the ketchup in half and using either chili sauce or BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Oh, wow! Back in college, when I thought that Sloppy Joes grew in cans, the dish didn’t seem fit for human consumption. Now, I’m thinking that canned versions simply can’t compete with the real thing, plus … well, why waste money at the market when this dish is quick, easy & inexpensive? I recently made it for the 5th time and loved seeing my husband & guests return for more. When salsa hasn’t been onhand, Pico De Gallo (for which there are several excellent recipes at this site) has worked great, and on one occasion I used Rotel tomatoes (the type with lime juice & cilantro)—also excellent. I guess there’s no way to ruin this recipe, for which I’m *very* grateful to LV & her mom-in-law. (Thanks, as well, to photographer Avon Lady, whose shot portrays the dish 100% accurately—thick, non-greasy & delightful on big fluffy buns which, like another reviewer, I serve lightly toasted.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these tonight on the advice of several on the RE and they didn't disappoint. I made a double batch and froze half for another time. I didn't measure the ketchup or salsa and think I might have used a bit less than the recipe states, but I definitely got all the flavor. I also used white wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I added some red pepper flakes to mine for a bit of added top heat. I wasn't looking for a Southwest flavor in these and fortunately, the salsa just adds the tomato and onion flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
made as written, very good.but next time I will use less catsup, and will add 1/2 tsp chili powder and some garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I really like the addition of chunky salsa in this recipe, instead of regular tomato sauce. I used thick and chunky hot salsa, it was great. I served it on homemade rolls, and with crisp potato wedges on the side. The entire family loved this one, even our picky 2 year old. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I truly enjoyed this recipe. I was afraid the salsa might make it taste too "southwest" but it was just right... and I didn't have to add onions as I do on the recipe I usually use. It's tangy and sweet as sloppy joes are supposed to be. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Wow. Seriously. This is THE only sloppy joe recipe I have ever liked. EVER. My picky husband even said they were REALLY REALLY good. Amazing! I did add some onion and hamburger seasoning to adjust for our tastes a bit, but it was only a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Really quick and delicious. This was perfect for a hot evening since it's one pan and cooks quickly. I don't really like dijon mustard but I wanted to be true to the recipe so I added it. You can't detect it specifically and it probably did add to the overall taste so I am glad I put it in. I did add onion powder and garlic powder but it probably didn't need it so don't sweat it if you don't have any. Make it as written and enjoy! UPDATE: I now have custody of my 6 and 7 year old granddaughters. I was afraid these might be too spicy or tangy for them. I don't find them too spicy or tangy but I fixed them without the hot pepper and held my breath and my girls LOVED them! Fix them, serve them, enjoy them. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Make a double batch and freeze it for another time....try this, so good! This tasted so different from the canned stuff, nice rich flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This stuff is fantastic! I'll never get the canned mix again. The salsa is a great addition and really lets you control the spiciness. We love spicy, so hot salsa and a little extra hot sauce made this delicious for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States