Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I just made this tonight (12/9/10) and it is absolutely amazing! I had to change the cup and a half of ketchup to 1 cup and then I did a 1/4 cup of BBQ sauce because I ran out of ketchup. Other than that I prepared it exactly as specified. It's a little sweet, has a very nice tang, and is the best joe's I've ever had! Next time I will try it exactly as it says and I'm sure I won't be disappointed! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Oh, this is so much better than anything you can dump out of a can. It has just the right balance of flavors without being too tomato-y or too vinegary or too sweet. I couldn't resist adding a spoonful of Memphis Magic Dust (look it up) but it didn't really need it. Thanks, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I've made this several times in the residential treatment facility I work in. Everybody really enjoys it and I usually double it. The first time I made it I thought the ketchup taste was to strong. When I made it again I decreased the ketchup and also the Dijon mustard. We were out of Worcestershire so I used some steak sauce. We really enjoyed it the second time. I'm sure I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
made as written, very good.but next time I will use less catsup, and will add 1/2 tsp chili powder and some garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This sloppy joe sauce tasted great! I did modify a bit, only because I had to use what was in my pantry...we were a bit short on ketchup - used maybe 3/4C, substituted in balsamic for the white vinegar, and left out the hot sauce. The sauce had a nice tangy flavor. Thanks for sharing! My family enjoyed this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Make a double batch and freeze it for another time....try this, so good! This tasted so different from the canned stuff, nice rich flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
tasted like ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is one of the better Sloppy Joe's recipes on AR. Nice appearance, texture and proportions. I can see I'm in the minority with my 3 *rating but the brown sugar made it overly sweet. There is quite a lot of sugar in Ketchup to begin with. I will try again, adjusting the sugar amount. Thanks for posting LV, it was a nice week day dinner idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Made this tonight, it's a keeper for sure! I didn't have the Worcestershire sauce, and I think it was great without it. I did use my homemade salsa though, so I don't know how that may have affected the outcome. But thank you for sharing this! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Use more meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States