Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Really quick and delicious. This was perfect for a hot evening since it's one pan and cooks quickly. I don't really like dijon mustard but I wanted to be true to the recipe so I added it. You can't detect it specifically and it probably did add to the overall taste so I am glad I put it in. I did add onion powder and garlic powder but it probably didn't need it so don't sweat it if you don't have any. Make it as written and enjoy! UPDATE: I now have custody of my 6 and 7 year old granddaughters. I was afraid these might be too spicy or tangy for them. I don't find them too spicy or tangy but I fixed them without the hot pepper and held my breath and my girls LOVED them! Fix them, serve them, enjoy them. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is perfect as written. I did not add the hot sauce since I have a 2 yr old. I do think I grabbed hot salsa in the end though. I have finally found a sloppy joe recipe I love. Will definately make this again!! Everyone loved it. Oh, I did add onions and fresh garlic to the hamburger as it was browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Made these sloppy joe's several times - always a favorite in my family. They are spicy and delicious - plus, super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonderwoman19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Oh this stuff kicks! I haven't made sloppy joes in YEARS as I can't stand the packaged/canned stuff - but these rocked. I did saute a bit of onion first and left out the brown sugar - other than that, followed recipe. At firt I thought it would still be too sweet, but the addition of the hot sauce took care of that. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
What a fun and delicious Friday night supper! Super easy to prepare and extremely tasty. The only thing I will change the next time I prepare this is to omit the hot sauce...it was just a bit too spicy for the kiddos. I also like the idea of using ground turkey or chicken and perhaps adding some chopped onion to the browning meat. This recipe is a definate make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have to give it 5 stars. My husband thought it was a bit too spicy - but - that's a personal preference. I will leave out the hot sauce the next time. I used a mild salsa. My suggestion would be that if you use hot salsa - leave out the hot sauce. He ate all of it in two sittings. I didn't get a chance to have any - frown. But - next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Love, Love, Love this!!! I used Pace med. salsa and 1.25 lbs of ground turkey. Added just a tad more salsa and ketchup because of the increase of meat but other then that, I followed as listed and it turned out great. It had a very nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QB's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made this for a crowd and everyone loved it! I'll never buy the can stuff or the season package again! I didn't add the hot sauce and it still had a tang to it, probably from the hot salsa I used. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!! I did use half ketchup and half BBQ sauce like other reviewers suggested as well as adding garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love this recipe! I wanted to make homemade sloppy joes and this was the first recipe I came to. I am glad I did. It is easy and taste great! I added green peppers and onions to my meet as it was cooking but followed the recipe otherwise. I will never buy canned sloppy joe mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I just made this tonight (12/9/10) and it is absolutely amazing! I had to change the cup and a half of ketchup to 1 cup and then I did a 1/4 cup of BBQ sauce because I ran out of ketchup. Other than that I prepared it exactly as specified. It's a little sweet, has a very nice tang, and is the best joe's I've ever had! Next time I will try it exactly as it says and I'm sure I won't be disappointed! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States